Second car

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mondayo

Car
S211 E55
I've recently bought an old S210 320cdi as a second car.
Does anyone know of an insurance company that will mirror or recognise my full NCD, so that I can use that (as in evidence of) to get me a half decent quote, on a car that cost me less than £600.

To be clear, I already use my NCD on my main car. So can't use that directly.

Well I am no expert ,but you can get two car insurance,I suspect you would have to be the only driver,so the £600 car will be included in your premium.

Try admiral multi car. When I got the SL I got a quote of around £1200. I ended up insuring the SL and two other cars for about £900!!!! 🤷‍♂️

Many will now "mirror" or "introduction discount" and effectively match your NCD. AXA are pretty good, also Sheilas Wheels.

Have a number of vehicles predominatly insured with different insurers. Never figured out in my case why "multi car" with the same insurer does not work out cost effective.

Funny how the different insurers "prefer" certain risk profiles, guess that is one for the actuaries.

Many will now "mirror" or "introduction discount" and effectively match your NCD. AXA are pretty good, also Sheilas Wheels.

Have a number of vehicles predominatly insured with different insurers. Never figured out in my case why "multi car" with the same insurer does not work out cost effective.

Funny how the different insurers "prefer" certain risk profiles, guess that is one for the actuaries.
To be clear, my E55 is insured with direct line and that policy isn't due for renewal until May. DL quoted well over £500 using their "multi-car" discount.
I've been on comparison sites and got a quote for about £370...it's just slightly annoying as my E55 is less than a hundred quid more than that.