Service B ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ChrisW6

Car
Mercedes Viano Extra Long 2.2 CDI
I finally got the car of my dreams 6 months ago. My Viano Extra Long, which I think the dog loves even more than me. So yes I’m new to mbclub so apologies if this has already been covered.

A few weeks ago the service b message started appearing at 69k. So as the replacement battery was fairly reasonable from MB Brentford I thought I’d phone them for a quote on the service. I knew it wasn’t going to be good when she said she had to put me on hold to calculate the total. Twenty minutes later I was hit with a £750 figure. Apparently because this is a really major / important service. Being the sceptic that I am, I can’t help but think I’m being well and truly rogered.

Am I right in thinking that a ‘Service A’ is equateable to your standard ‘Interim Service’, and that a ‘Service B’ is equateable to a standard ‘Full Service’.

A Full Service costing just £200 at K*** F** or somewhere similar.

The last thing I want is to f-up the car, but equally don’t relish MB bending me over for £750 every twelve months.

Your words of wisdom greatly appreciated

Last edited:
If it's out of the (MB) warranty period you can go anywhere. In fact I believe legally you can whilst under warranty. I think in the handbook it gives you a list of items to be checked at each service so you could pick a decent local garage and get them to do the job. I would.

Go to the following site Mercedes-Benz ESS

That will tell you what is required, which will most likely be a Service B plus a load of mileage / year based additional items which is why the KF price will be much lower (it will only be the basic service B and not the additional).

The best middle ground it to find a good local Mercedes independent who can do the proper job at a lower price than the main dealer.