Service sequence for W211 E320 CDi (and more)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

nickgee

Car
W211 E320 CDi
Hi all, I'm new to both this forum and MB in general.

I've had my shiney E320 CDi for about a month now, and it's quite clearly going to be a fabulous car! :D

I've got a few questions, and never seem to get time during the day to call my local dealer - and I'm not sure that y'all aren't a better source of information anyway...

My questions:

1. How long does this engine take to "bed in"? Does the engine get quieter/more economical as this happens?

2. Is there a typical service sequence for this car (eg: A, B, A, C) and if so, what is it?

3. When I was choosing this car I'm sure I read about a feature called Tailback Assist where the car would automatically apply the brakes in slow moving traffic if you lifted your foot off the accelerator. However, I can find no reference to this, only SBS Hold - which is very useful. Does it exist?

Thanks in advance...

I'm sure you will find plenty of help here; I know I have.

nickgee said:
1. How long does this engine take to "bed in"? Does the engine get quieter/more economical as this happens?
The economy on mine improved by a few mpg over he first 2000 or so miles but I can't say I have noticed any change in sound (although mine is only the 220 which is noisier than your 320).

nickgee said:
2. Is there a typical service sequence for this car (eg: A, B, A, C) and if so, what is it??
It seems to depend how you drive it as it might skip an A.

nickgee said:
3. When I was choosing this car I'm sure I read about a feature called Tailback Assist where the car would automatically apply the brakes in slow moving traffic if you lifted your foot off the accelerator. However, I can find no reference to this, only SBS Hold - which is very useful. Does it exist?