Shift workers age faster.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Reggie-rock

Car
2015 E Class coupe 220 diesel bluetec, 2009 Mitsubishi Colt 1.3
According to new research the brain ages an extra 6 years every 10 year period of night shift working.
So as I have been working nights now for 17 years now my brain is the same age of a 70 year old although I am only 59, and as I intend to work until I am 70 my poor old brain box will think it is 86 years old.

After you reading all this I am not sure what my point is apart from us night workers are under paid.

At least this thread brings my score up to the magic 100 now.

Working nights is known to halt post count as well.

(that, along with posts in off-topic not counting)

Decades of shift work definitely have taken there toll in my case. It amazes me how well my ex-colleagues look a few months after retiring. Younger, healthier and vigour restored. Here's hoping!

Decades of shift work definitely have taken there toll in my case. It amazes me how well my ex-colleagues look a few months after retiring. Younger, healthier and vigour restored. Here's hoping!

I've heard rowing is a good way to be healthy. :)

Will I start feeling younger then, when I retire then Giantvanman? and when will my previous posts go beyond the 99 mark or am I not worthy?

I often worked between 80 and 90 hours in my early career, no wonder I feel like I am 70 some days :)

I been doing long days since early age I'm now 36 and fell like I could retire!!:D

Sent from my iPhone using MBClub UK

Dieselman said:
I heard you had.
I wish I got a long way to go still !!:(

I used to do long hours and at 36 I went semi retired. Actually its not semi retired, I work for myself now and its given me a new lease of life and Im enjoying my job again.

I pick and choose my clients and only work with those I want to. Yes Ive scarificed money but Ive gained so much more in return.

Mrhanky said: