SL advice needed .... (please)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Netrix

Car
Mercedes ML420 2008
I've been a member of this site for a while although not been "around" for a while. I currently drive an ML420 on an 08 plate, but I have the "mid-life bug" to get a sports car. I don't think the SLK will be big enough (although I haven't tried one yet) so I'm trawling the ads for an SL.
I have little knowledge re the SL apart from reading on various forums about the ABC repair/replacement costs on the earlier models.
The advice I'm after is what to do with my circa £18,000 budget. I have seen a 1 owner SL500 on an 08 plate with FMBSH and 38k on the clock. I'm assuming it's "facelift" as it has air scarf, SD input on the command unit etc. (so will this have issues with suspension and boot seals ?)
The other option, as I see it, is a newer SL350 or SL300 - probably a 2010 or 2011 model for similar price ?
My heart wants a MB V8 petrol but my head says there could be a few large bills ahead if I opt for the SL500.

Any advice gratefully received !!

Netrix

Hi Netrix,

The 2008 model you mention is on a change over year from the original R230 front end to the facelift, so not sure which you have seen early or later model.... I'm sure others will be along but "i think" not all SL500's came with ABC, it may have been an option. its certainly an option on the SL350. I've personally had 3 SL's, A 1999 SL320, 2005 SL500 and now a 2013 SL63 and my 500 had ABC, I also had to replace the boot seal and also the roof cables as this gave up just as I was selling it at a cost of £700 from a very good indie PCS. That being said the ABC never gave me any hassle. I have changed an ABC strut on my previous ML63 and they are circa 1k per corner.