SL400 (R231) - Does a new battery need coding?

kolobos

Active Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
135
Location
Scunthorpe
Car
SL400 AMG Sport 2015
Hi,
I have suspected my battery has not been the best for a while with the start-stop feature only working occasionally and then after a couple of start-stops it does not work again for days? I have just bought a 12v battery tester and it reports its health as being 15%, Charge 42% and everything else as OK. However, it does prompt me to REPLACE the battery. I am more than willing to do this and would like to know if the battery will need coding to the car? I am planning on buying the exact Mercedes replacement battery. Thanks.


Steve.
 

kcsun

Active Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
308
Location
essex uk
Car
SL63 AMG, RS4
If you have never replaced the battery then it has done well to last 7 years. All AGM batteries have a "chip" with a unique code so it will need coding to the car. Buying the exact same battery is not enough as the chip code will be different.
Have you asked your MB dealer for a quote, I believe they always were very competitive on battery pricing. If you are not using the car as a "daily" it may also be worth investing in a trickle charger to keep it in tip top condition. If you are an MB club member you may get a discount - worth asking
kc
 

oldguy57

MB Enthusiast
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
1,441
Location
Lancashire
Car
Now various and sundry
I've bought numerous AGM batteries over the years for our cars and other stuff, and I've never heard of any having a chip, or any kind of coding necessary. Is this specific to start stop spec cars?
 

whitenemesis

MB Club Veteran
SUPPORTER
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
19,347
Car
Lexus RC300h F-Sport 2019
Replaced the AGM battery in my CLS and no mention of chips or coding.
Simply swapped them over and reset the windows etc.. No issues
 

Ted

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Messages
6,473
Location
Bourton on Dunsmore
Car
Lexus RC300h F-Sport, Yamaha XVS 1100, Jeep Renegade
Replace luck for like = no coding
Replace for a larger capacity = coding to get the most out of the capacity of the battery.
 
OP
OP
K

kolobos

Active Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
135
Location
Scunthorpe
Car
SL400 AMG Sport 2015
Thanks for your replies, I know a local independent dealer who is Mercedes trained and connected to the Mercedes computer network so I am confident he will be able to sort if I cannot. I have some Mercedes OE diagnostic kit (not STAR) which can code parts etc to cars. Not sure about Mercedes yet though, none the less I should be able to sort. Sounds as though a like for like genuine battery will be OK. Thanks again,

Steve.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ted

Skd884

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
1,884
Car
A handful of Amg v8s.
Never heard of a battery require coding...

Slow charge your battery for 12 hours, might be fine for years ahead.
 

kcsun

Active Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
308
Location
essex uk
Car
SL63 AMG, RS4
Thanks for your replies, I know a local independent dealer who is Mercedes trained and connected to the Mercedes computer network so I am confident he will be able to sort if I cannot. I have some Mercedes OE diagnostic kit (not STAR) which can code parts etc to cars. Not sure about Mercedes yet though, none the less I should be able to sort. Sounds as though a like for like genuine battery will be OK. Thanks again,

Steve.
I have the icarsoft obd tester and that can code a battery

kc
 

geoffus

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 2, 2020
Messages
1,078
Location
Burbage
Car
E250 AMG Sport Convertible, B200, Yamaha YZF R1.
Changed mine recently, don't need coding and you can buy a quality battery for a lot less than Mercedes will quote you.

 

David44

Member
Joined
May 13, 2021
Messages
48
Location
Land of the Prince Bishops
Car
2013 R231 SL350
Changed my original Varta battery last year with a Bosch AGM...no coding everything works fine.
I don't think AGM batteries are chipped as such but the car system needs to know the battery spec in order to calculate how much power is available.
 

Diesel Benz

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
4,505
Location
Europe
Car
223.168 & 213.012 & 906.633
If you have never replaced the battery then it has done well to last 7 years. All AGM batteries have a "chip" with a unique code so it will need coding to the car. Buying the exact same battery is not enough as the chip code will be different.
Have you asked your MB dealer for a quote, I believe they always were very competitive on battery pricing. If you are not using the car as a "daily" it may also be worth investing in a trickle charger to keep it in tip top condition. If you are an MB club member you may get a discount - worth asking
kc

This is not a thread for Russian propaganda.

No chip on any Mercedes battery. Latest models have an option to tell the relevant control unit that the battery has been changed. Helps to gain perfect operation immediately after the battery swap. Without "reset" the car adapts rather quickly to the new battery properties, no big harm if not "coded".
 
OP
OP
K

kolobos

Active Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
135
Location
Scunthorpe
Car
SL400 AMG Sport 2015
Definitely, no coding is required after speaking with the main dealer, also the battery part number has changed from A0055411001 to A0019828208 and they are £193.82 inc. vat. I will probably buy the original one as the car is totally original and genuine. Not a single part is non-genuine from new. At some point, this will change I know that :) Thanks again for your replies, much appreciated.

On another note, has anyone had the need to change the auxiliary battery behind the driver's seat?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ted
OP
OP
K

kolobos

Active Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2013
Messages
135
Location
Scunthorpe
Car
SL400 AMG Sport 2015
New battery swapped over in a few minutes, no settings lost, no issues or problems showing at present. All windows working as they should. ALL GOOD.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom