SL55 running costs?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Buffy d

Car
2009 Supercharged E92 M3, 1998 BMW E39 540i
Hi all, I've been trying to brush it under the carpet for years but the desire to own an SL55 simply won't go away (I've been ignoring it for about 16 years…). I am seriously considering one as a second car in the near future and wanted to get a handle on real-world running costs. I've done my research so I know about the struts, ABC valve blocks, SBC, tandem pump, roof pump, roof seals, boot seals and intercooler pump, which I think covers most of the problems?! Realistically I'd only be doing maybe 3000 miles a year, which makes me think I could stomach the potential repair costs… I was thinking that if I had a war chest with a few grand set aside for emergency repairs that would probably be ok? Thanks in advance for any and all advice and guidance
smile.gif

Sounds like you have fully researched possible pitfalls with this model and are going into it with your eyes wide open. Definitely a lovely car with a peach of an engine.

When viewing, check everything electrical is operating as it should. Dodgy control modules and broken wiring that stop mirrors adjusting and heated seats that don't work all cost money to put right. On a test drive, go full throttle where possible in quick succession. If the car stops pulling strongly in every gear, your intercooler pump may need replacing as it can't cope with the heat soak from the supercharger. If possible, get it inspected by an indy you trust. He should be able to point out any faults and what may be a good buy. Money well spent.
I'm sure owners of the model will jump in and advise on other things but hopefully Ive touched on a couple of points.

Expected mileage however low won't compensate for mechanical gremlins. In fact the opposite, more miles per failure is better..

That said, great cars, look for full service history with maintenance, no expense spared.