SLK Sat Nav

paulrichardson

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
13
Location
Bristol-England
Car
SLK 230
Hi,

Just registered for the forum, stacks of info on here, great stuff!!

Can anybody solve my Sat Nav problem.

I have a Merc Audio radio/cd fitted in my SLK 230. It has speed dependant volume.

I am considering a Sony MEX100NV (same as Becker Traffic Pro) Sat Nav unit.

Can I use the speed signal the the radio was using, or do I need some other piece of kit to connect it all up?

Many Thanks
 

RichardM

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 29, 2003
Messages
2,490
Location
Essex
Car
2011 CLS350 CDI
Why do you need a speed signal? Most Sat Nav units work out the speed from your gps position.
 
OP
OP
P

paulrichardson

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
13
Location
Bristol-England
Car
SLK 230
Thanks for your welcome message, pleased to be here. Will get a couple of photos of my Merc to add to my posts.

I have been led to believe that the GPS is not accurate enough to Pin Point the location (say on a roundabout).

With a speed signal it can calculate where you are to within a foot or so.

Without the speed pulse it's only accurate to about 30 metres.

(So I've been told, by a Sat Nav salesman).
 

Koolvin

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
10,167
Location
Staines
Car
W168, W169 & S202
yes use that connection
 

Tan

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Messages
2,901
Location
Woodford Green
Car
W140 S-Class, Porsche Cayenne and Porsche Boxster
Hi

It worth looking at the Alpine equivalent to the Sony unit as it is DVD based. Its rrp is more expensive but shopping around can get it down to reasonable money.

Tan
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom