Smoke on start up

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mcshadders

Car
c250 cgi estate
I have a C250 CGI and seem to get a fair bit of smoke when on choke from cold, enough to see drifting past! Exhaust pipe pretty black too. Had it from 3000 miles and now done 24000. Merc seem to think ok but I wonder? Mpg poor too. Anyone had similar? It's a 2010 model.

Sent from my iPhone using MBClub UK

I'm no expert but I have seen petrol SLK 200 and 250's smoke like billio if left standing for a while.

No idea why but they seem to clear after a run...?

I'm no expert either but its normally valve guide seals leaking oil into the cylinder while sat, the engine then burns it when the engine starts.

Short journeys? kills the valve stem oil seals, try accelerating in a lower gear then let it decelerate and then hit the throttle and watch it smoke then, a sure sign of brittle valve stem seals.

Thanks for that.

Sent from my iPhone using MBClub UK

Mcshadders, I own similar car and I have the same problem, blue gray smoke when I start up the car from cold, did you find out what was the problem? did you manage to fix it?

Thanks

Mcshadders, I own similar car and I have the same problem, blue gray smoke when I start up the car from cold, did you find out what was the problem? did you manage to fix

Could be as simple as a dirty air filter,this will cause black smoke on a diesel.

Other manufacturers have experienced problems with lower octane fuel in direct injection engines. I haven't heard of this with the 250 CGI engines but I guess its a possibility. :dk: New DI Engines -- Excessive Carbon Buildup ?? - MBWorld.org Forums

Or------ you may have a problem with the swirl flaps on the inlet manifold or similar-- there's a lot of stuff going on in the inlet manifold of these cars .

Last edited: