Spark Plugs / Oil - C180 Kompressor (04)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jackson7715

Car
Mercedes C180 Kompressor (2004)
Hi all.

Im a newbie, finally managed to nab myself a merc. She needs some tlc tho, and still not sure about this service A and service B thing.

Im gonna do a service on the car myself, oil/filters, sparks.

Anyone suggest what plugs to use? And a good place to buy them please. Also what oil i should be using, is 10w40 ok for it?.

Many thanks

Look forward to getting to know the members.

Mat

The M271 engines needs oil that meets MB Spec Sheet 229.3 as minimum. The latest MB Spec Sheet 229.5 will also be OK. The oil certification is printed on the oil container.

Avoid oil meeting other MB Spec Sheet numbere because these were not designed for your engine.

Many on here chose to buy MB-branded oil on eBay, it isn't necessarily better than other oils but it's good quality, does the job, and carries the right MB-Spec. If doing so, then make sure you buy the oil from a reputable seller, because there have been cases where counterfeit oil was sold on eBay. MB-barnded oil is supposedly made by Petronas.

Alternatively you could buy oil from Opie Oils, or from Euro Car Parts if you have the right discount code.

While any oil that meets
MB Spec Sheet 229.3 or 229.5 will do, certain brands are considered as leading oils, among which are Shell Helix Ultra, Mobil 1, and Fuchs Titan.

On the same note, choosing engine oil with the correct spec is paramount, because the M271 engine is prone to premature timing gear failure. Google "M271 timing chain".

The common issues with your car are:

- Premature timing gear failure that can cause valve and piston damage

- Oil leak from the two Camshaft Position Sensors at the front of the engine that can cause ECU failure

- Split vacuum hose under the air filter box that can cause rough idle

- Blocked engine breather causing EML light on the dash