SPECIAL OFFER - IN CAR TV ( KEEP THE KIDS QUIET )

Discussion in 'Interior' started by domswinfield, Jul 10, 2002.

  1. domswinfield

    domswinfield New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Hi everyone,

    I am from automotif, london. we supply and install tv and navigation systems for all mercedes benz vehicles. We have a special on at the moment for all new customers.

    for all saloons

    2 x headrest screens
    1 x playstation 2
    2 x headphones

    All fully installed and warranted for one year for £1999 inc VAT
    Original cost was £2499+VAT

    Have a look at our site:

    www.automotifinstallations.co.uk

    0208-882-2040 9am - 6pm mon-fri

    Thank you

    DOMINICMy Webpage
     
  2. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    How much to install a navigation unit with screen (not in headrest and not a flip out)
     
  3. OP
    OP
    domswinfield

    domswinfield New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Hi,

    depends on which system you go for. The last c class we did was a C43 AMG and we removed the ashtray, built a matching panel with a wide screen fitted into it. It looked realy good.
    When you sell the car we can remove the system and replace the ashtray.

    ball park - £1800 ish

    Dominic
     
  4. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    not sure what system to go for really <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/sad.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':('> a friend of mine has fitted a clarion widescreen in the same place you guys did. What is a good system? 1800 is a bit toooo much for me

    Here is a pic of his widescreen clarion...

    [​IMG]
     
  5. OP
    OP
    domswinfield

    domswinfield New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    I have a system in the store cupboard which we have never fitted, but we needed the screen for another car. You would need to buy a new screen, but I would sell it cheaper...Interested?

    without screen £500 cash

    new screen trade costs about £450 and you can have the software for £50 instead of £119

    but it needs fitting still, where you from??

    dom
     
  6. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    Im interested! so that's about a grand plus fitting right? what make model is it?

    I'm near Ealing W5, if you guys are too far from me I can have a bash at trying to install it myself, but to be honest I'd rather have you guys do it as you could make a nice surround for the screen!

    something which my friend is working on!

    [​IMG]
     
  7. OP
    OP
    domswinfield

    domswinfield New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    it is made by VDO.

    Basically they are the largest of all the navigation companies.

    I AM BASED IN pALMER GREEN, n13 BUT......THE WORK SHOP IS IN nORWICH.

    I go to Norwich twice a week so i could take your car down and get it fitted and then you could pick it up from me later that day.

    you can reach me on 0208-882-2040 anytime
     
  8. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    Damm, Norwich is toooooo far! Plus I never let my car out of my sight (hope you understand cause it's my babyyyy)

    do you have any pics of the install you done on the C43?
     
  9. Dave B

    Dave B Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    K - you could get youself a monitor on Ebay.  Search for &quot;monitor&quot; under the &quot;automotive&quot; section there are a few there at the moment ranging from 3&quot; to 7&quot; in size.

    Just a thought.....but could cut the overall cost. <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=';)'>
     
  10. OP
    OP
    domswinfield

    domswinfield New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    these monitor on ebay arent much cop really. Problem is the navigation companies try to keep it so you cannot plug in another brand, the link between the screen and the nav unit has over 30 wires in it. It can alos work out more expensive, once you have purchased all the interface boxes. Oh and the remote control would not work anymore......not good

    dom
     
  11. V12

    V12 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,610
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Location:
    Southampton
    Car:
    S320CDI LWB
    So, do you know mercman?
     
  12. OP
    OP
    domswinfield

    domswinfield New Member

    Messages:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    No I dont who is he?
     
  13. Maff

    Maff Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Henley-on-Thames
    Koolvin,

    You could install a OEM MB COMAND 2.0 unit for no more than £1000 into uour C-Class. If you want to know more, let me know! &nbsp;<img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':D'>
     
  14. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (Maff @ July 22 2002,15:22)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">Koolvin,

    You could install a OEM MB COMAND 2.0 unit for no more than £1000 into uour C-Class. If you want to know more, let me know!  <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':D'></td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>
    yes pls, you have mail
     
  15. Shude

    Shude MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (Maff @ July 22 2002,15:22)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">You could install a OEM MB COMAND 2.0 unit for no more than £1000 into uour C-Class. If you want to know more, let me know!  <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':D'></td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>
    Is this a once-only deal or is it repeatable? &nbsp;I *need* satnav and rather than go aftermarket I'd love an oem solution. &nbsp;

    Having seen the install in Toni's w202 (just moved the Climate Control unit to the upper ashtray area and used the double din sized hole for the command display) I really need it now!
     
  16. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    Toni's SAT NAV:


    [​IMG]
     
  17. Maff

    Maff Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,485
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Henley-on-Thames
    This isn't a problem to retrofit - you need the double din space and moving the climate control up is easy as well (done in the CLK easily enough). Not too sure about the non-climate vehicles.

    Once you have the double din, get a euro COMAND off of ebay.de
     
  18. Shude

    Shude MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    </span><table border="0" align="center" width="95%" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1"><tr><td>Quote (Maff @ July 24 2002,13:47)</td></tr><tr><td id="QUOTE">This isn't a problem to retrofit - you need the double din space and moving the climate control up is easy as well (done in the CLK easily enough). Not too sure about the non-climate vehicles.

    Once you have the double din, get a euro COMAND off of ebay.de</td></tr></table><span id='postcolor'>
    time to have a word with MBenzNL then <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':)'>

    I already have the double-din/CC, and I think to move the CC box you just have to undo some screws and cables then slide it out (I'm guessing). &nbsp;If you move the cables and screw it into the upper section of the ashtray unit and wrap it with a portion of the same facia part as the upper section, then you're done.

    Wiring up the command box...that's a different story I'm sure...
     
  19. Shude

    Shude MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    13,915
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    holy sh*t command unit for sale on ebay.de:

    [​IMG]

    next bid would be 404 euro, which is 255 pounds! &nbsp;Might ask Steve (MBenzNL) to check out the description, see if he thinks it will be ok to fit and if possible bid on it for me. &nbsp;If I get it then I might go on a little trip over to NL to see him again and get hopefully get some help fitting it <img src="http://www.mbclub.co.uk/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif" border="0" valign="absmiddle" alt=':D'>

    Actually, I think he said he has a command unit going spare at his father's shop...hmm...
     
  20. Koolvin

    Koolvin Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,058
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Staines
    Car:
    W168, W169 & S202
    shame I dont have climate control! If I have to fit a screen then I will fit them into the rear headrests as well and even the sun visors

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.