Spelling, grammar and punctuation

Discussion in 'OT (OFF Topic) Forums' started by flango, Dec 27, 2014.

1. flango

flango Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car:
    Mercedes SLK R171
    Just thought I would share this one with you, last night I was relaying my story of getting flamed on here for poor punctuation and grammar to my daughters Psychologist friends. Now its not that I don't know how to use the English language (I have a Degree and Masters). With me its more of a can't be ar*sed thing, it's a forum not a formal business communication so who cares if the English is not perfectly correct? Well it would seem plenty do.

Apparently it is well recognised in psychological circles that people who struggle to put words and sentences into context when they do not have the correct punctuation, bad grammar or incorrect spelling have usually had impaired cognitive development in their early years. The human brain grows to 80% of its size within the first 2 years of your life. Your life in these years determines your cognitive development, so things like poor diet, environmental deprivation and parental attention can impair cognitive development.

Someone who has developed fully cognitively doesn't care if the words are spelt correctly, if the grammar is correct or if there is any punctuation, they can immediately set the words and sentences in context and understand it.

I was pointed to the paragraph below (which you have probably seen before) which is taught in Psychology, if you can read this without faltering, re-reading or stopping to think your cognitive development was good. If you can do this and you still have a problem with grammar and punctuation then you are one of life's moaners who need to get a life :D