Steering Wheel

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Eric1066

Car
SL 350
Hi all,

I am not a mechanic, and have no practical knowledge so wanted to ask a question.

Are MB steering wheels, only in a qualitative sense, the same? What I mean is, for example, is the A Class steering wheel, no different is size, dimensions, quality, to a B class steering wheel or a C class steering wheel etc..? Or is an A Class one somehow smaller, or weaker, or pathetic in some way, or just very odd if placed in another model? (Just standard wheels, not AMG etc..)

If for example, you needed to buy a used steering wheel, and you have a 2010 S Class, and a 2014 A Class steering wheel was available, would it fit and could it be bolted and would not look weirdly out of place due to dimensions?

(Please disregard the possible electronic problem and cluster unit, for now.)

I just want to know, can someone simply unbolt the old one of one class and slide on and bolt another steering wheel from another class, are they all bolted with that 10mm Hex bolt?

I know, to someone with practical knowledge, it may seem like a stupid question, maybe ALL steering wheels can be bolted on as its just a standard size that every manufacturer uses, a Ford steering wheel would fit, i just don't know.

Clearly, using a Ford wheel the electronics would be different, different commands, different plugs etc, I'm not asking about that, and I get that.

Thanks
Eric

I'm sure they will probably bolt on but thats the least of your problems .There is a multi pin connector behind the wheel that feeds to all the steering wheel controls. As there are many different styles / forms of control on MB wheels I would be surprised if they are universal. In fact being MB the opposite is much more likely. So I have no difinitive amswer. All I know for sure is that a w219 cls63 wheel is a plug and play bolt on replacement for a w219 cls55 wheel because I have done it.