Stupid W210 clock

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by allias, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. allias

    allias Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Location:
    Leeds
    Car:
    00' W210 Est 320CDI
    Can someone tell me how to adjust clock on my W210? I swaped my command for 2DIN Pionieer unit and I had a few chances to disconnect battery and since then my clock shows different time.

    I already tried to look for option on steering wheel but mine doesnt have that option.

    Can someone tell me what am I supposed to do?
     
  2. Will

    Will MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    11,175
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    GL63 AMG / S211 E55K AMG / 190E 2.3-16 / 190E 2.5-16 / Porsche 911
    Leave the battery disconnected until 12:00 :eek:

    Only kidding (although it might work..). I think that the COMAND-equipped cars get the clock data from GPS, whereas others allow you to set it through the main menu on the cluster (ie - language, kph/mph, time etc).

    Might need coding with STAR to disable the Navigation/COMAND function?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    allias

    allias Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Location:
    Leeds
    Car:
    00' W210 Est 320CDI
    How long would it take to change it? I dont want to spend fortune just for bloody clock settings.
     
  4. Alps

    Alps MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,146
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Location:
    London\Essex
    Car:
    E63 Weistec AMG(SOLD), E55 2004 Silver(SOLD), C36 AMG 1997 (SOLD)
    i know on the w211 its changed on comand must be the same on comand equipt cars, your may have to program the cluster using STAR to tell it you no longer have comand fitted. most good MB indi`s can do this for you.
     
  5. GSD

    GSD Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    01 W210 E240 Avantgarde
    Sorry a bit off topic but have you got any pictures of your new double din installed??

    I ask this because I read somewhere that there is usually a small gap left after replacing a COMMAND unit with an aftermarket double din unit due to the COMMAND unit being slightly larger than double din :dk:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    allias

    allias Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Location:
    Leeds
    Car:
    00' W210 Est 320CDI
    How long does it take to program my cluster?

    GSD: Unfortunetly i dont but there is no gap as the frame fits perfect. There is bigger gap (~1mm) between radio and frame.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. renault12ts

    renault12ts MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    15,750
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Car:
    2005 W215 CL500.
    Setting the time is accessed via the menu system, specifically those set at standstill. When you find it, it will be obvious.
     
  8. npuk

    npuk Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
    As Will mentioned you need to have it coded to remove navigation so you can set the time via cluster.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Diesel Benz

    Diesel Benz Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,071
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Europe
    Car:
    222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
    My understanding is that the cluster remains using the last setting from the Comand but if you power down/up the cluster it would reset to the manual time setting option. I'd suggest following the advice from Will, and you would not need to do it at 12:00.
     
  10. d w124

    d w124 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    12,346
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    london
    Car:
    w124 3.6AMG styling E320 S124 Lorinser styling
    It might not be clear to you but is very clear to us what you're here for :crazy:
     
  11. OP
    OP
    allias

    allias Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Location:
    Leeds
    Car:
    00' W210 Est 320CDI
    I already tried so different ways...:mad: :wallbash::doh:

    One thing left - de-coding Command from my car. :wallbash::wallbash:
     
  12. effbee584

    effbee584 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    524
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    Norwich
    Car:
    Jag XF 3.0S and 10 yr old Micra 1.2 auto with Air Con.
    My local In Car HiFi guy suggested I swap the Comand for a double Din Unit, he did explain that I would lose the integrated phone system I have and the car would need some re-programming by Star (perhaps to re-pram the clock?). I won't be replacing it even though the Pioneer looks great.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    allias

    allias Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    720
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Location:
    Leeds
    Car:
    00' W210 Est 320CDI
    Then you dont know what you missing. I can live with no steering controls but at the same time I love the sound quality and options from my DVD unit. Fits perfecly and looks great. Phone system on this unit works thru BT and its much better the one from Merc. Quality is great as well. Only one thing I miss is GPS but it had old maps anyway so I use Garmin for £65 and I feel like a winner anyway. :bannana::rock::thumb:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.