Substandard brake discs

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Haqra

Car
E220D
I've had my E220 for exactly a year. Hadn't driven it for almost 4 months due to lockdown. After approximately 14k miles, brakes began screeching. During the first service 2/3 weeks ago, the staff at MB Croydon said that the brake discs and two front tyres were quite worn, though not to the extent that they were illegal. It matters not that during my driving career (36 years), I have not experienced - on any vehicle that I have driven - the tyres and discs being worn down so quickly (less than 30k miles). I have researched and asked those that are knowledgable about these things; I've been informed that the discs should last between 30k and 70k and as I said, that's what my experience tells me too. Now, I know that it obviously depends on how the vehicle is driven, even before I've been told this 3/4 times by various MB staff/technicians like I'm an idiot. I work as a chauffeur and I'd be a terrible one that didn't get much work if I did not drive very carefully, so please do not tell me it's down to the way I drive. The way I drive gives Hoke Colburn a run for his money (he's the chauffeur in Driving Miss Daisy), and driving as I do, the discs should not even be looked at before 60k in my opinion - especially on a £35-40k car.

Find a local F1 Autocentre. IMO they are open and honest. They'll do a free brake and tyre test for you. Get a second opinion.

No way to get 70k miles out of discs on moderns in my experience.

30k is much more likely.

Of course if the car is sitting around and the discs rusting then this could reduce this significantly.

Is the car on only 14k miles in total from you having it new for around a year and needs new discs?

30k is much more likely.

Of course if the car is sitting around and the discs rusting then this could reduce this significantly.