Swooshing noise is this normal[emoji848]

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Topman2u

Car
A220 cdi amg
Can someone put my mind to rest [emoji85]is this swooshing noise normal I've no loss of power or nothing ! But never heard it on my other cars before !! Or is it just me being stupid I'm no mechanic by any means so any feedback would be great [emoji1360] I can't upload a video to show you sorry [emoji52]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Induction noise? - I can't really hear the "swoosh" in the Nissan at low speeds, but if I put my foot down on the motorway there's a definite hiss of it pulling more air through the filter.

I'd be surprised if it was the dump valve, but it's not impossible; some people do like the sound of it venting to atmosphere (although I don't know how easy it is to do that on a Mercedes).

Induction noise? - I can't really hear the "swoosh" in the Nissan at low speeds, but if I put my foot down on the motorway there's a definite hiss of it pulling more air through the filter.

I'd be surprised if it was the dump valve, but it's not impossible; some people do like the sound of it venting to atmosphere (although I don't know how easy it is to do that on a Mercedes).

Those were both my thoughts hence my question, difficult to answer without actually hearing the noise. Something else to investigate is, has the air filter been upgraded at some point, check that and all connections. A dump valve? Well possible but unlikely on your car but who knows there are some who plumb for them, not a fan myself.

Be interested to know what you turn up so keep us posted.

Swooshing is a bit vague.. is it fluid or air.. as it can be either...

My first though was a turbo hose burst?? but with really hearing it, hard to say...

How can I post a video on hear as I can put photos but not videos

Swooshing is a bit vague.. is it fluid or air.. as it can be either...