T-boned at traffic lights

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fuzzyfelt

Car
C220 CDI Coupe 2005
Hello,

I’ve been leeching from this forum for a while now since I brought a 2005 55 C220 CDI Coupe back in August ’06. Just about everything I wanted to know about Comand units, rain sensors, and oem mods have already been discussed so I’ve never needed to submit, until now…..

(Apologies for the long post :) )

On Sunday afternoon, I was t-boned at a junction in Sheffied city centre controlled by traffic lights. When I got to the junction the lights were on red for me and I duly waited for them to change. On green I pulled away from the line only to see a Chrysler Voyager hurtling to me, without any sign of stopping and hit me on the drivers door. I'm just so glad we were in the Merc!

The driver who is registered disabled (don’t know what for) was taken to hospital with back pains leaving only his wife at the scene. My wife and I are fine, leaving us both with a little neck and back ache and me with a sore head from hitting the driver’s door window

My car doesn’t look well. The Voyager has a really low bumper and has dented the entire length of the car from wheel to wheel between the sill and the trim, with really bad damage to the A pillar. The driver’s door open and shuts but is bent outwards at the top. What’s really worrying me is that the sill next to the driver’s seat has been significantly buckled inwards. It’s now in Mercedes’ Body shop in Sheffield waiting for inspection.

Fortunately, the driver of the car one car behind me came up to me and said that he saw what happened I confirmed that I had gone through on green. Phew! A pedestrian came forward and said that he looked up on hearing the crash and saw that the other bloke’s lights were on red.