Taking the plunge - advice much appreciated!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kickin'fm

Car
W209 CLK55 AMG
Hello all and thanks for looking, newbie here.

Just started the hunt for a CLK 500 / 55 AMG. Jumping out of a BMW 330d as want something with 2 doors and much more sex appeal.

My big concern is expensive bills. In the last 12 months Ive shelled out £2k for a new turbo and the gearbox went which cost me another £2k :mad:

Anyway, my budget is circa £11k and I'm wondering am I asking for trouble (and more sizeable bills!) shopping around for a 70k-80k 02-04 plate...?

All opinions welcome
Cheers
David

I've got/had both and they are great cars... I'm very particular with my cars and want them in tip top condition however I have also had bad luck with both of mine with gearbox issues, now this i'm told is rare!!
Try and go for the latest possible, in late 04 the facelift model came out and is a better built car...
Good luck with your find, hold out for the right car as there are many hi specced cars to be had...

Rust is another issue, something that would not have been a concern on your BMW. Mercs were not galvanised till 04/05. There's a thread on this, do a search.

Rust can be bad, effecting all wheel arches and many other areas of the car (boot lock, bonnet). And you will be very very lucky to find one without any rust. The worse thing about rust is that, unlike a gearbox or mechanical part, rust can never be fixed. It will always come back in the fixed area or another area of the car.

So I would make sure you are willing to own a car that will/has rust.

If you are, I would not choose a silver car. Silver is the hardest colour to paint match, making doing DIY rust repair very very difficult. Also many bodyshops will not gurantee a paint match. So repairing the rust becomes more of a headache.

I'm not surewhat would be a better colour, maybe ask around on the forum.

Thanks guys!