Talk to me about boats

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Eddy77

SUPPORTER
Car
2008 CLK 350 Sport Cab and 2021 BMW 520i M Sport Saloon
Hi all!

Does anyone on here have any knowledge or experience of owning a motor cruiser? I’m taking about a 30ft ish four berth motor / sports cruiser. Either with twin outboards or Volvo penta diesel inboard. Something like a Sealine S34 or perhaps a Jeanneau Merry Fisher. Or an older Princess.

I am trying to get a handle on the ongoing costs. In my mind I reckon that a cheap mooring, insurance and annual servicing stuff should weigh in around £5k-£7k per annum. Plus fuel which is of course usage dependent.

I’m new to all this, but here’s where I am at in the thought process:

I would want to do some proper training before jumping in to learn how to drive such a boat.

I know the fuel is hideously expensive.

I have ascertained that outboards are way cheaper to run and maintain than inboards but on a 30ft plus boat the majority are inboard. But what exactly is the differential. People bang on about shaft drive and got knows what else. I’m not sure I have got my head around it all.

I’d want a boat that could do inland and coastal. I think that’s a category B.....but what defines coastal use. Could I safely take a 30ft over to France, for example?

My research tells me that the cheap American brands like Bayliner are cheap for a reason. So am I better going for an older Jeanneau, Princess? Should I be concerned about buying an older boat (mid 90s for example)?

I don’t want to flood the forum with questions. I’m possibly going to be in a position to buy one in a couple of years time and trying to spend the time between now and then working out all the pros and cons. I’ve always fancied one but are they just a hideous money pit?