The story of my C230k going off the road... and back on

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Adam230K

MB Enthusiast
Car
German oil burner
Its Sunday morning and i'm bored so i thought i'd share with you all my last 2 week's ordeal ! ***WARNING*** This will be quite a long read!.

IT all began when i was cruising along... changing into 3rd gear and i heard the loudest WWII style bang coming from the back of my car jerking me forward, this was then followed by a by some kind've revolving metal sound grinding against something else (basically my diff died). So i then took it to Mercs only in near Boston Manor (if i'm not allowed to quote mech's please remove this part of my post), and asked them to check the differential, gearbox and propshaft. 3 hours later they called me saying that they've checked everything and that the gearbox bearing has gone!!!

So, because i trust(ed) these guys and i've been servicing my car there for about 2 years, without hesitation, i contacted Dronsfield LTD and they provided me with a like-for-like gearbox with 36k miles for £280 delivered to my doorstep, which came 9:00 the very next day, great service. I then drove this gearbox to my friend's garage (it was dodgey but i was desperate) and the car made it, and we put it on the ramps (which are about half a meter off the ground) and left it for the next day.