Thinking of jumping ship

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Oli

MB Enthusiast
Car
Audi A5 3.0 TDI Quattro
I've been giving serious thought to ditching the SL for a 2009/2010 Range Rover TDV8 now that the new model is out the older shape is becoming quite reasonable at around the £30k mark so could sell up and finance the rest.

What are peoples opinions on the last of the older shape Range Rovers?, I think they still look quite fresh with the facelift and Electronic spedometer etc, obviously I would really love a new model but couldn't afford it, so a 3/4 Year old one is the next best thing.

Their both great cars but in different ways, the SL is much more fun but a Range Rover is more comfortable and dare I say it economical:eek:.

Depends if its a proper Range Rover or a sport. I wouldn't bother if its the latter. The Vogue shape is such a good all rounder to be fair especially with the TDV8 engine but it is no SL.

Being made by Land Rover expect problems later on in its life the L322 shape suffers from gearbox woes, diff problems, electrical issues, suspension problems etc... they are all pretty well published but they are bloody easy to fix as long as it doesn't go to Land Rover as they charge an arm and a leg. Your relationship with a Range Rover is a bit like a marriage you love it one minute and hate it the next. To truly appreciate it and to be amazed turn off the road onto the nearest dirty stuff and be truly amazed!

I've actually had an L322 in the past although an early 4.4 Petrol one, I wouldn't get the Sport it has to be the big one.

The thing with the SL is, I really love driving it, the power,the noise etc but I rarely get the opportunity to drive it properly as I spend most of my time driving around town and I'm starting to think is it worth suffering 13-15 MPG for the occasional smile I get to enjoy, particularly as I own a bike that I find more exhilarating to ride and it's certainly much faster.