Tier 1 Warranty - Do I need to use main dealer for servicing?

Discussion in 'Parts, Maintenance & Servicing' started by jswaly, Sep 11, 2018.

1. jswaly

jswaly New Member

Car:
    E220 CDI Saloon
    Hi All,

Newbie here just joined the forum. As per above - would love to know what my options are? Also I am late in getting this done because I was away, milagewise I have only done about 2000 miles from my last service! Thanks in advance.

2. WOODYTHEWISE

WOODYTHEWISE Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car:
    E 500 Coupe.
  3. OP
    OP
    jswaly

jswaly New Member

Car:
    E220 CDI Saloon
    Thank you WOODYTHEWISE. This is what they say " The continued validity of your insurance is dependent upon you having the insured vehicle serviced by a Mercedes-Benz passenger car repairer in accordance with the manufacturer’s specifications." Does this mean I can use an independent garage - in my case Wayne Gates would be the closest?

4. Abb

Abb Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car:
    Mercedes C43 W202 Project, Mercedes ML350, Honda Fireblade RR-D
    You could always contact your local MB dealership and seek clarification.

5. WOODYTHEWISE

WOODYTHEWISE Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car:
    E 500 Coupe.
    Ah....the way I read it Wayne Gates would be fine.
    To be on the safe side I would give MB warranty a call.

6. OP
    OP
    jswaly

jswaly New Member

Car:
    E220 CDI Saloon
    @Abb & @WOODYTHEWISE - I spoke to MB Warranty Administration and they confirmed that I DON'T have to use a MB franchise dealer, I can use an indy provided the following conditions are met -

1. Indy is VAT registered
    2. Indy will keep all paperwork for all the work carried out and also provide the same to me
    3. Indy will use genuine MB parts and carry out the service as per manufacturers specifications

My next call will be to Terry over at Wayne Gates to book it in for a B5 service.

Thanks

Abb, WOODYTHEWISE and st13phil like this.
  7. John

John MB Club Veteran

Car:
    CL500