TomTom 5.0 Navigator

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BaldGuy, Jul 13, 2005.

  1. BaldGuy

    BaldGuy Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,305
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Car:
    Porsche Cayenne Turbo + 911
    Does anyone have an upgrade copy of TomTom 5.0 Navi that I could try / copy as I've heard it doesn't like certain PDA's
     
  2. RichardM

    RichardM Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,490
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    2011 CLS350 CDI
    It has to be activated to use it though.
     
  3. damyers

    damyers Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    55 reg SLK 55 AMG
    I have TT5 but it requires a special code that is activated through GPRS so you couldnt use it. Do you currently have TT3 on your PDA (and what PDA?) cos if that works then the likelyhood (although not a garauntee!) is that TT5 will work.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    BaldGuy

    BaldGuy Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,305
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Car:
    Porsche Cayenne Turbo + 911
    Not if you have a crack.... :D
     
  5. rees_A

    rees_A Banned

    Messages:
    760
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    North London
    Car:
    CLK55 AMG
    I know someone who has a copy who may sell you a copy if you are interested....PM me
     
  6. damyers

    damyers Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    55 reg SLK 55 AMG
    Yeah - heard that you could crack TT3 but not too sure about TT5 :rolleyes:
     
  7. mike_avfc

    mike_avfc New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Car:
    Mercedes C220 CDI

    you can - plenty about and it's a lot better than 3 or 4
     
  8. OP
    OP
    BaldGuy

    BaldGuy Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,305
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Car:
    Porsche Cayenne Turbo + 911
    Well thanks to an extremely generous fellow member, I now have TT5.0 installed..... Why isn't the world full of more people like this.....

    Many thanks... You know who you are...
     
  9. Aswall

    Aswall Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    537
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Car:
    CLS 350
    Don't do it, it's worse than 3.0, I've already sold mine. Have a read through the GPS forums
     
  10. Dave Kerr

    Dave Kerr Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Car:
    BMW 5 series / 1961 Jaguar E-Type
    A friend of mine bought tomtom5 on ebay for £15, it works great and has the maps for the whole of Europe, its good but you can't get the speed camera update.

    Dave


    QUOTE=Wheelie]Does anyone have an upgrade copy of TomTom 5.0 Navi that I could try / copy as I've heard it doesn't like certain PDA's[/QUOTE]
     
  11. Dave Kerr

    Dave Kerr Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Car:
    BMW 5 series / 1961 Jaguar E-Type
    My mate bought a cracked copy about 2 days after it was released.

    Dave
     
  12. grasmere

    grasmere Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    675
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Location:
    Harrogate
    Car:
    MB C220 D 1996
    I've just upgraded to TomTom 5 navigator from TT3 after 18 months and after just a few days I am NOT actually impressed with it yet

    . . . hows anyone found TT5 navigator in practise?
     
  13. WLeg

    WLeg Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,301
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, Sao Paulo, LAgos, Houston
    Car:
    CT-200h, VW Polo, Rav4,
    I use it on my Ipaq 6515, not too bd, with the 5.10 update, altohugh sometimes it is a bit slow.
     
  14. Dave Kerr

    Dave Kerr Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    172
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Car:
    BMW 5 series / 1961 Jaguar E-Type

    I use it quite often and its OK, better than the AA navigator by far which I also have.
    I find it will always try and take you the longest way to wherever it is your going. I have been less than 50 metres from my road and its still telling me to "turn around when possible..........!!"

    Dave
     
  15. IanA2

    IanA2 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,535
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Location:
    East Mids
    Car:
    SL60 AMG, GES300, Lexus GS 430
    Did I miss something somewhere? I have TT3 in the ML & Travel pilot in the SL. TT wins hands down every time, no probs, not never. :D
     
  16. Madferrit

    Madferrit Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    511
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    London, NW
    Car:
    '06 B150SE, '99 E220 CDi, A160, Ferrari Mondial and a Smartee! Now Sold: G300 LWB (sadly missed)
    The various celebrity voices is always a good add-on to "enhance your driving pleasure" :)
     
  17. Thmsshaun

    Thmsshaun Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,630
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Car:
    2009 C300 4Matic, 2012 Kia Sportage, 2015 Triumph Tiger800 XCX
    Might give it a try anything has to be better than that stroppy woman.

    She is so uptight at times :crazy:
     
  18. RichardM

    RichardM Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,490
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    Essex
    Car:
    2011 CLS350 CDI
    I signed up for the months trial of the traffic service (which is very impressive and downloads very little GPRS data so is cheap) and its still working months later :bannana:
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.