touch up paint

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

v2mille

Car
c350 cdi sport estate
Just wondered if anyone has had any experience of using the Halfords touch up 3 step kits, im not a novice when it comes to car repairs and paints but I am having real difficulty in getting a colour match for my 2012 iridium silver (paint code 775) c class.
The Halfords one is way too dark followed instructions was done in a 22oc environment but stood out like a sore thumb so removed it and got a local spray shop to make some up only £5 but looked like aluminium on the car, now I appreciate its a metallic and the amount of flake can differ but for 2 paints to be so far off I am wondering if my paint code is correct, any comments appreciated thanks.

Have you tried the paint kit offered by your dealer?

Just wondered if anyone has had any experience of using the Halfords touch up 3 step kits, im not a novice when it comes to car repairs and paints but I am having real difficulty in getting a colour match for my 2012 iridium silver (paint code 775) c class.
The Halfords one is way too dark followed instructions was done in a 22oc environment but stood out like a sore thumb so removed it and got a local spray shop to make some up only £5 but looked like aluminium on the car, now I appreciate its a metallic and the amount of flake can differ but for 2 paints to be so far off I am wondering if my paint code is correct, any comments appreciated thanks.

I have the same problem. Halfords is a little too dark. You do have to ensure its thoroughly mixed though.
I'm going to buy a touch up paint from MB and hopefully it will be a better match.
Halfords was too convenient but didn't match on this occasion although silver id difficult to match Ive been told.