Tv channels will be lost going digital ??

njkmr

Active Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
244
Hi folks ,

lots of info on tv at the moment regarding digital switchover in my area .
Does this mean I will lose the tv pics in my car .Its not a freeview system ,so I presume it will not work when anologue is switched off tomorrow .:dk::dk::dk:

Any suggestions ??
Regards
Rob
 

Barbanasos

Active Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Messages
470
Location
Manchester
Car
Mercedes E200 w124 and 2000 E55 AMG
I'll wait for the experts advice but I think we ll be ok as the car aerials will pick up the digital signal. I was looking for this a while back and no serious discussions which if it was a problem most people would be raving about it on forums.

There is a kit for freeview digital in the car for about £600 ouch. I hope we won't lose anything as I like watching breakfast in the morning when warming the car up.
 

BTB 500

MB Club Veteran
SUPPORTER
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
19,183
Location
Berkshire
Car
R129 SL500, W639 Vito 120, S203 C230
I'll wait for the experts advice but I think we ll be ok as the car aerials will pick up the digital signal.
You need a digital ('freeview') tuner to do anything with that signal though.
 

smiddyboy1

Active Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
333
Location
Scotland
Car
W203 C320CDI Sport Edition, W203 C200K (Coupe), 219 CLS350, S-Type, 316 CDI Sprinter
Yes the channels will go - I think theres a digital tuner that plugs into the analogue tuner for some models.
Others have the combined tuner already.
 
OP
OP
N

njkmr

Active Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
244
So im thinking now it will be lost .I dont have freeview as Ive only got BBC1-2,ITV ,CH 4 and CH 5 I think on the channels .
Its a cl 600 54 plate .

Is it £600 large ,to get it sorted then ??
 

smiddyboy1

Active Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
333
Location
Scotland
Car
W203 C320CDI Sport Edition, W203 C200K (Coupe), 219 CLS350, S-Type, 316 CDI Sprinter
So im thinking now it will be lost .I dont have freeview as Ive only got BBC1-2,ITV ,CH 4 and CH 5 I think on the channels .
Its a cl 600 54 plate .

Is it £600 large ,to get it sorted then ??
I'm sure I've seen a post maybe not here but on the american sites where they have got a Digital Freeview tuner for around £150 and managed to run that - don't quote me on the price or the fact there may be additional hardware required but I'm sure it was just plugged into the back of the existing tuner. I'm sure our resident experts on this will be around soon to advise you of the best route to go. (Alfie & Richard).
 

smiddyboy1

Active Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
333
Location
Scotland
Car
W203 C320CDI Sport Edition, W203 C200K (Coupe), 219 CLS350, S-Type, 316 CDI Sprinter
Now I'm thinking about it it MIGHT have been a DVD player that was for £150. I'm gonna see if I can fine the post
 

Barbanasos

Active Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Messages
470
Location
Manchester
Car
Mercedes E200 w124 and 2000 E55 AMG
Big problem then! I am surprised no one discussed it here before. There didn't seem to be many solutions either around. Can the comand guys over any advice?
 

azaman

Active Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
572
Location
London
Car
E320 CDI Sport
From what I have read on here (don't have TV in my car) you can run a normal household freeview box making use of the existing aerials and just run that into the aux in on the old tuner.

Challenges are finding a small freeview box that can be hidden, having to use the remote for the box instead of Comand buttons and powering the thing.
 

Sp!ke

Administrator
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
11,968
Location
West London
Car
SL500 & The Fart Car
This is happening tomorrow? Really - I didnt know this? :eek: :confused:

I would have thought a 12 volt freeview box is available for very small money that could be used in car.
 

Shude

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
13,882
Location
Cheshire
Car
CLK55 AMG
I have a bush idapter on an analogue TV that was about £40, is the size of a deck of cards (looks like a dongle) and has a remote eye on a length of cable which wouldn't look out of place on the headlining somewhere (looks a bit like the phone mics). The software appears identical to a lot of TV-integrated freeview boxes so support should be good.

I'm not sure that home units are any good for car-use though as they're not designed for travel and will require re-tuning every time you move to a new signal area where car units probably (hopefully) account for this and do it seamlessly.
 

grober

MB Master
Joined
Jun 22, 2003
Messages
28,377
Location
Perth, Scotland
Car
W204 C200CDI Estate
Freeview retune today

For people already receiving Freeview at home via terrestrial broadcast remember that a retune may be necessary TODAY 30 September 2009 due to freeing up space for future terrestrial HD services and Channel 5.
People getting their signal via Analogue,cable and satellite are unaffected.:thumb: Some clever set top boxes will do this automatically others may not.:(

http://www.freeview.co.uk/_retuneinfo/
 

Barbanasos

Active Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Messages
470
Location
Manchester
Car
Mercedes E200 w124 and 2000 E55 AMG
Well, in my area the analogue signal will stop in December 09. There are different dates for various aerial locations. After that we ll see.
 

Neiltodd

Active Member
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jul 22, 2009
Messages
912
Location
moray
Car
c63 amg estate
I don't know how to reply to a classified sale but if assaman is still looking at this thread I am interested in your Tom tom
 

login_user

Active Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
286
Location
Hampshire
Car
CLK350 CAB Sport (w209)
I fitted a veba digi box to my command unit i had to buy a special connector as well and new aireals but it works well.
 
OP
OP
N

njkmr

Active Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Messages
244
login user ,can you give us more info on cost etc and where you had it done .

Many Thanks .
 

login_user

Active Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
286
Location
Hampshire
Car
CLK350 CAB Sport (w209)
login user ,can you give us more info on cost etc and where you had it done .

Many Thanks .
The veba tuner was about £40 posted with an extra aerial as it has 2 tuners for better reception, the media harness(needed as i didn't have tv fitted) was about £120. I fitted it all myself and hid it away in the dash with just the remote sensor under the glove box.
 

landywood

Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
52
Location
cheslyn hay walsall
Car
2006 sl55AMG
Hi if you go on mercedes benz owners club forums go to search and put in digital tv there is an in depth post and it works plus it is very easy

Regards Mike
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom