[SOLVED] Tv tuner Ntg 2,5

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Bayram, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. Bayram

    Bayram Member

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    Car:
    Mercedes Benz W211 E220 CDI Avantgarde 2007
    Hello Gents,

    Car info:
    W211.008, pre-wired phone, retrofitted NTG 2,5

    I retrofitted a NTG 2,5 with the help of you guys 1,5 years back :)
    Everything works perfectly :D

    As you all know Star wont communicate with a retrofitted NTG 2,5 (org. APS 50)

    My question:

    Would changing the vehicle datacard from APS 50 (code?) to NTG 2,5 (code?) let Star communicate with it in my car?

    I want to fit a tv tuner. Will any aftermarket tuner work and could you please point me in the direction of one (if not, a Mercedes part no. please). It needs to be a DVB-T (mpeg4) tuner.

    Would there be need to Star coding?

    I'm aware the screen will turn off when exceeding 7 km/h.

    Thank you in advance
    Bayram - Denmark
     
  2. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,637
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey/Cotswolds
    Car:
    W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
    Star will communicate with the NTG 2.5 when retrofitted. Fitting a TV tuner is possible but it will have to be the Mercedes one as the head unit will not talk to others. Star coding would be needed.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. npuk

    npuk Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
    1 person likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Bayram

    Bayram Member

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    Car:
    Mercedes Benz W211 E220 CDI Avantgarde 2007
    Thank you for the respons...

    My dealer said that wasent possible unless my car is a 2009 model?

    I've been mailing with Steve from Mbenz, he told me that entering in developer. mode as ex. 171 SLK would allowed Star to communicate with the NTG in my 2007 model car.

    "no - stardiagnose will not communicate with any NTG2.5 in a 211 unless
    the modelyear of the car is 2009 - stardiagnose doesn't care about the
    actual optioncode but cares about the modelyear in the case of the
    NTG2.5
    if you enter the car with stardiagnose developper as a 171 SLK or some
    different model then it actually is, you will be able to enter the
    NTG2.5 comand with stardiagnose


    Planing on buying a stock Mercedes.
    "a TV tuner with antennas and wiring will cost 850 euro excl. 19% VAT,
    incl. shipping per post" Quote from Steve.


    Been looking on comandonline.co.uk aswell but they dont state if any wiring is included.
     
  5. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,637
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey/Cotswolds
    Car:
    W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
    I can absolutely assure you that STAR will communicate with NTG 2.5 in most cases as we have done it in many cars from 2003 to 2011.

    We (Comand Online) do not include the loom with the tuner but im sure we can get it. Its just that there hasnt been much demand thgus far.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Bayram

    Bayram Member

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    Car:
    Mercedes Benz W211 E220 CDI Avantgarde 2007
    Thank you both for your help
     
  7. simppa80

    simppa80 Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Car:
    White W204 Mopf 220 CDI AMG
  8. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,637
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey/Cotswolds
    Car:
    W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
    You need to code the MOST ring on and set TV tuner and media interface to present. The media interface option is set on in at least two if not three places.

    You will need STAR with developer mode.
     
  9. simppa80

    simppa80 Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Car:
    White W204 Mopf 220 CDI AMG
    Thank you Alfie!

    I have codet Most ring to

    pos.0 = HU/AGW
    pos.1. = TV-tuner

    There is still comfort phone in ring (shoud I remove most ring from phone module), Where is phone module?

    I have set tv-tuner at Comand developer (there is TV icon in Video menu)
    Did you remember places for media interface, I don't have code that yet..


    Regards
     
Tags:

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.