UK Mars Red /Fire Opal Red [code 590] Micro Blistering Paint Manufacturing Fault

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I’m a newbie to the group and searched paint code 590 to find many members with the known Fire Opal Red paint fault.

I had this issue a few years ago and discovered it after a car wash where they used jet lances which left one large bubble of water under the lacquer so I visited Chipsaway for a resolution and it was they who informed me of the known MB issue with the red paint and suggested I go back to the MB dealers who sold it to me as new.

They in turn directed me to their bodyshop sister company at Witham, Essex who initially tried to dodge the issue but I did my research online and as I’d had the car from new, had a MB FSH and no paint repairs by others and after many paint gauge tests all over the car they relented and I had a body respray FOC as a goodwill gesture. They even filed two very minor dents when down to the bare metal. They did an excellent job BUT they don’t do the plastic parts but they really should as I’ve got very minor bubbling/peeling on the front bumper’s lacquer!

I’m offering this information to encourage MB Fire Opal Red members in the UK to persevere and stand your ground and argue your case at the MB Bodyshop as they know full well they are respraying hundreds of red cars with this very same fault but will do their level best to fob you off!

Lance water jets don’t go nowhere near my car now and the issue hasn’t returned but I did read online at the time that some people had to have a second respray as the issue returned! What bad luck! I also heard at the time that MB don’t sell red cars anymore!

Good luck to all!

They do sell red cars....but just metallic I think......no solid red.

They do sell red cars....but just metallic I think......no solid red.