Using a hotels broadband connection

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by mapleleaf, Sep 3, 2006.

  1. mapleleaf

    mapleleaf Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,693
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    2018 Gle 43 AMG Night - replaced previous 2015 E63 AMG
    The hotel we are using next month on our jollies has wireless broadband in the guest rooms . Anyone know how I get onto the internet from my wireles laptop (sad taking it on hols I know but needs must ). Would I need to set up a new isp account? . All I need is an internet connection so I can pick up emails & check a couple of things at work using gotmypc.

    thanks
     
  2. pammy

    pammy MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,468
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Car:
    hers - slk 320, his - dull diesel BMW fleet :/, Xtrail, Honda CBR 1100xx, Yamaha YZF600, Ribble Road
    Your hotel will provide you with all the dertails. Your lap-top should pick up the connection automatically and offer you a log in box of some description.
     
  3. Ian B Walker

    Ian B Walker MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,672
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Freckleton
    Car:
    300-24, saloon and coupe, E300 24 valve diesel estate
    When you switch on your laptop and try to connect to the internet it will show you a list of available connections. Select the one which the Hotel staff have given you details of and away you go.
     
  4. spaceman763

    spaceman763 Member

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    usually the hotel will give you a card with a code. You will need to connect to the wireless device and then open internet explorer (or equivalent). This should take you to the providers homepage where you will need to enter the code on the card. Voila..... you are free to surf!
     
  5. w124coupe

    w124coupe Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    902
    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Midlands
    Check first that it's free!

    Some of the hotels provide "The Cloud" or "BT Openzone" coverage BUT you need to subscribe or pay a daily charge....
     
  6. masqueraid

    masqueraid Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    911
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Car:
    E220 CDi & A170CDi
    Yes, check in advance, there are several companies which supply equipment to hotels and pay them a % of income from people using the connection. Prices for these are IMHO a ripoff but you are a captive audience. In the US now you can get free broadband wireless access from many hotels. Some entreprenurial hotels are offering this in the UK but most offer a transferable subscription system (you've paid for 100 credits in advance on our system so as long as you visit one of our other hotels/airports/coffee shops in the next 12 months you can use your balance there) However if your hotel has a different service supplier you need a whole new account.
     
  7. mercmanuk

    mercmanuk Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,220
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Location:
    MIDDLETON MANCHESTER
    Car:
    C180 AVANTGARDE SE SPORT GONE AND MISSED LANDROVER FREELANDER 2 LET IT SNOW LET IT SNOW LET IT SNOW
    i stayed in a hotel last week,you pay £5 per day for the password to be able to connect to the wireless network, the following day they change the password.i was lucky as a businessman payed for 3 days access and gave me the passwords,everyone in the bar at night was told them for free.
     
  8. fuzzer

    fuzzer MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,939
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Car:
    F25 X3 20d SE
    i got fed up with all this nonsense.

    now have a 3G data card. problem solved.
     
  9. spaceman763

    spaceman763 Member

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    I stayed at the Raddisson SAS in Glasgow last week.... wireless broadband was free although my hard drive packed up 10 mins after connecting!!!!!
     
  10. OP
    OP
    mapleleaf

    mapleleaf Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,693
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    Manchester
    Car:
    2018 Gle 43 AMG Night - replaced previous 2015 E63 AMG
    thanks chaps, it seems pretty simple then. the hotel is in toronto, canada.

    fuzzer, tel me more about 3g please - I havent been able to get my head around it properly yet. what sort of costs are involved etc. cheers
     
  11. masqueraid

    masqueraid Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    911
    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Car:
    E220 CDi & A170CDi
    My guess is you'll have free access in Toronto (you can always email the hotel)
     
  12. fuzzer

    fuzzer MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    7,939
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Car:
    F25 X3 20d SE

    3G isnt for canada , would cost a fortune to roam on your 3G card over there.

    I use orange 3g , its a data only account and can use it when im out and about. Get as fast a connection as you can out and about. Supposed to be 384k , but its fast none the less. Not sure about figures.

    http://www.business.orange.co.uk/servlet/Satellite?pagename=Business&c=OUKPage&cid=1135953587219

    im on pay as you consume. £1 per MB . totally rocks :)

    http://shop.orange.co.uk/shop/yourplan/mocplan
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.