Using COMAND in Europe

crockers

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
7,097
Location
North Wilts
Car
XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
Does COMAND automatically give distances and directions in metric when one is abroad or do I have to do something to set this up?

Thanks
 

glojo

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
14,144
Location
Torquay
Car
S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
I have my comand set to show meters all the time, I like them, they are not as long as miles;)
I have several meters in our car :devil: :) :) Where's that pedantic bloke when he is really needed? I COMAND him to meter the spelling errors ;)

Regards
John the imperial
 

television

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 5, 2006
Messages
12,269
Location
Dorset on South Coast
Car
R230 SL500
I have several meters in our car :devil: :) :) Where's that pedantic bloke when he is really needed? I COMAND him to meter the spelling errors ;)

Regards
John the imperial
It feels more natural to use metre's for me, but the last time I spelt it that way someone complained, I cant think who :confused::rolleyes::confused::rolleyes:that was
 

glojo

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
14,144
Location
Torquay
Car
S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
It feels more natural to use metre's for me, but the last time I spelt it that way someone complained, I cant think who :confused::rolleyes::confused::rolleyes:that was
Some blooming foreigner I bet?:devil: :)

 

jeremytaylor

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Jun 27, 2005
Messages
2,414
Location
Surrey Hills
Car
E280CDI Sport Est., CLK 200k Cab., VW T5 174, Citroen C8, and a 2CV!
To get back to the thread ...

As far as I recall, you have to reset the units yourself. But I'll double check when I'm in France tomorrow morning!
 
OP
OP
crockers

crockers

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
7,097
Location
North Wilts
Car
XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
To get back to the thread ...

As far as I recall, you have to reset the units yourself. But I'll double check when I'm in France tomorrow morning!
Sanity prevails...................:D
 

MBManInKen

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
3,375
Location
London
Car
Mercedes S500 LWB (V220)
Does COMAND automatically give distances and directions in metric when one is abroad or do I have to do something to set this up?
On my COMAND, you need to change the language setting from English Imperial to English Metric. Either via the COMAND settings, or via the cluster if COMAND has been set to follow the cluster.
 
OP
OP
crockers

crockers

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
7,097
Location
North Wilts
Car
XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
I think I will have to do that very unmanly thing and read the bleeding manual..............:devil:
 

Brian WH

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Aug 21, 2002
Messages
6,283
Location
East Midlands
Car
JAGUAR XF 3.0D Premium Luxury
You will have to change it manually.

Don't forget to change it to French as well.:rolleyes:

Bonjourney.
 

glojo

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
14,144
Location
Torquay
Car
S211 Sprinter 213CDI, & the new T-class
You will have to change it manually.

Don't forget to change it to French as well.:rolleyes:

Bonjourney.
I was playing with our Sprinter Pioneer unit, changed the language.......... and boy was it embarrassing trying to figure out how to get the thing back to English. :eek: :eek: :eek:

John
 

television

Hardcore MB Enthusiast
Joined
Oct 5, 2006
Messages
12,269
Location
Dorset on South Coast
Car
R230 SL500
I was playing with our Sprinter Pioneer unit, changed the language.......... and boy was it embarrassing trying to figure out how to get the thing back to English. :eek: :eek: :eek:

John
That very things earns me good money on new TV's once they have changed the language they are stuffed and call me out.

I dont mind and I think its a good thing :):):)
 
OP
OP
crockers

crockers

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
7,097
Location
North Wilts
Car
XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
You will have to change it manually.

Don't forget to change it to French as well.:rolleyes:

Bonjourney.

just read the manual and cant see anyway to do it........
 
OP
OP
crockers

crockers

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
7,097
Location
North Wilts
Car
XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
Oh, I'll set it to French for you :devil: ;).

And television can then make some more money out of setting it back :D.

I dont want it to talk french to me -- I can see how to do that -- but i want it to tell me distances in metres etc not yards ...or will it do this automatically when on continent (almost wrote when in europe)..lol
 

Brian WH

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Aug 21, 2002
Messages
6,283
Location
East Midlands
Car
JAGUAR XF 3.0D Premium Luxury
Right now listen very carefully I shall say this only once.:D

Go to your instrument panel settings on the steering wheel. Change the reading from Miles to Kms. Then the Comand will give you distances in Kms as well. Ok?;) ;)

Iv'e just tried it and it works on mine mate.
 

MBManInKen

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
3,375
Location
London
Car
Mercedes S500 LWB (V220)
Right now listen very carefully I shall say this only once.:D

Go to your instrument panel settings on the steering wheel. Change the reading from Miles to Kms. Then the Comand will give you distances in Kms as well. Ok?;) ;)

Iv'e just tried it and it works on mine mate.
On mine that will work as well, provided I have set the COMAND language setting to "same as cluster".

Crockers, in the language menu I have two options for English: English (Imp) and English (Metric). Perhaps yours is similar?
 
OP
OP
crockers

crockers

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 30, 2007
Messages
7,097
Location
North Wilts
Car
XC60 MY2014 SeLux Nav plus lot and lots of toys...
Cheers - I'll look tomorrow...:rock:
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom