Vito roof rails question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Denz

Car
Vito
Hi, I am a newbie to this forum, I am trying to fit some roof rails to my 2005 long wheel base vito, the roof rail uses 4 attachment points for each rail, the front two are fine, threaded attachment points there nice and ready but the middle and rear points have a plastic cover and then a hexagonal hole under it?
No threaded attachment point just the hole?
Can anyone help me as I do not have a clue!

Mine had plastic caps on , but when removed had the inserts there to fix to.Can you put a picture up of what you have and will see if someone can help you out.

Nick

Oh yes and welcome to the forum

When you say roof rails, do you mean rails that run along the length of the vehicle or across it?

The roof rails are the ones that run the length of the van, I call the ones that run across roof bars!

Here is a image of the middle attachment points, one with the cap on and the other with it off and a nice hole

IMG_20150416_085400.jpg

Here is the front attachment points which have the threaded points (roof rail rubber around it which I put on ready for installation)
IMG_20150416_084911.jpg

Looking at roof racks (two bar), it appears that the recommended fitting points use the middle and rear only. I think the front is a fixing point for the rails that go along the length of the roof. Looking at your picture, it is almost like there should be a plate (holed or a thick, large diameter washer) with a bolt welded to it that that goes inside. It might be worth finding an MB commercial dealer and have the parts department check their system - unfortunately, several people on here have access to EPC & WIS but MB don't allow access for Vito/Viano, mad as it sounds. Either that or make some up- a metal plate with a couple of holes with nuts welded to it, all decent grade, of course.