Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme review

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

John757

Car
E350CDi Coupe , Gwagen 280GE , SL55 AMG , Audi SQ5 Quattro
Jaffa's Juicy Bits
Jaffa's Juicy Bits
I found this review...its a comprehensive report on these winter tyres...very very interesting read... and well written. (sadly not by me!):thumb:

Sounds like he fitted them to rear only!

Not recommended

Colin.

He fitted 4 winter tyres:

"In fact they were that good in the snow that, when I chose to go out, I was choosing my winter rubber equipped Lexus over the 4WD we also had on the drive. The key difference was that, in the car with winter rubber, it actually stopped when I hit the brakes!"

Although some of it is not exactly factual:

"Winter tyres offer 3 main benefits. Firstly, they usually have 10mm of tread when new, compared to 6mm on a normal tyre."

I have been using these tyres for the last 5 years and new ones have between 7&8mm tread depth, the same as any summer tyre.

Other than that, he is quite correct, these tyres in winter are incredible and I too prefer my RWD MB to any 4X4 on all seasons or summers.

Russ

OMG these tyres are incredible..... 600metere 1in 5 hill where i live... i just drove straight up this hill....at 10mph... not one warning triangle.... drove past neighbour who abandond his Rexon 4x4 which he discribed as all over the road sideways trying to get up the hill..... drove all the way to the top...out onto slushy roads...and around my villiage...back down the hill... only stamping on the brakes triggered the ABS 100% I recommend these tyres... i outstanding cold dry performance... very quiet running.... wet conditions were very grippy...but today was the real test.... WOW it was like driving on a dry road... no side slip... at all.... £634 well spent... who needs 4x4!!!

We have them on a 97 VW Polo. So far they seem really good in the snow. Very quiet too.

they are very good tyres, very effective in the snow