W124 300TD Estate Suspension Question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Donald

Car
1992 W124 300TD Auto Estate
First of all i just want to say Hello!

I recently bought myself a 1992 W124 300TD Estate.The car is flawless apart from the rear suspension.It sits really low at the back.The previous owner told me it probably needs new rear shocks but having read through the forums on here i'm slightly stumped as my car has self levelling suspension.I rarely have any more than two people in my car so is it possible to fit standard shocks from a saloon or do i have to bit the bullet and fit either new shocks or new "spheres"??? If there is another cause to why my car sits low at the back please let me know.

All replies would be appreciated (bear in mind i'm new to mercedes,my previous cars were a Vauxhall and Fiat! :eek: )

Thanks

Donald

Hello Donald.

First thing to check is the condition of the small link arm which goes from the rear anti-roll bar to the levelling valve. If this has popped its ball joint from one end the car will sit at whatever attitude the arm rests at. Look up near the diff O/S rear. If that is OK then it may be you need new spheres. Ordinary shocks will not work.
Have you checked the oil level in the tank?

Last edited:
The car should sit at the "right" height when parked - that height is set by the springs. If it's sitting markedly lower at the back than the front then something is amiss - probably a broken spring

On the road, ride height is kept correct by the height corrector activating the self-levelling if the height is wrong. The linkage to the height corrector (see Druk's post) is therefore key to this

If it doesn't self-level you have a self-levelling problem. If the rear is excessively hard or excessively bouncy you need new spheres

The rear of the car does not have conventional shock absorbers - it has a Citroen-like hydraulic system

Nick Froome
www.w124.co.uk

Last edited: