W124 5speed auto

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

abogas

Car
E320 Cabriolet 1996
Hi, newbie here! I have a 1996 cab that I've any number of little issues to sort out but the most worrying is the gearbox issue. I've trawled through lot of threads on it but none seem to help! The problem is its missing out 4th gear, going 3rd to fifth instead. I've made a blink tester but when I test pin 13 all it does is light the led at about half power and I get nothing else. Hope a genius is to hand!:crazy:

Thanks in anticipation

Are you sure it's going from 3rd to 5th? Fixing 5-speed control systems is hard work because there isn't much in the way of diagnostic kit. There's a PDF that describes the action of the ECU that controls the 4-5-4 switch - get a copy of that and check that all the signals are present

Nick Froome

I'm fairly sure as it changes up through 2nd, 3rd then a big jump upto 5th? But does about 3000rpm @70mph. Also clicking it back and fore across the gate has no effect. Don't suppose you have the PDF do you, tried searching till my fingers bled!

You are certain that the car is a 5 speed? And if you are counting gears then you know it starts in 2nd?

Hi, yes I'm sure it's a 5 speed as the the fours don't have the side to side plastic gate on them do they? I've looked at a few four speeders and the shifter gate is different.

Oh and yes they only start in first If you floor it!

4 speeders have a habit of missing top gear when worn, it sounds as though yours is doing this then selecting 5th, which is an add on gear.

The difference between 4th and 5th at 70 mph is about 700 rpm. What revs is your car doing at 60 in 3rd & 5th? Or 70 if it'll do 70 in 3rd

You may find a subscription to WIS & EPC useful. Google it

Nick Froome

Hi, yes I'm sure it's a 5 speed as the the fours don't have the side to side plastic gate on them do they? I've looked at a few four speeders and the shifter gate is different.