W124 E320 Coupe Niggles...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ChuChu

Car
E320 Coupe
Hi All,

New member here! Not sure if I'm posting in the right section or not but here goes...

So I've been dreaming of owning a W124 Coupe for many years and so I saved up a few pennies and scoured the web for a half decent example, which wasn't in Blue. Loads of Blue ones for some reason?!

Anyway, I found a Facelift '93 E320 Coupe in Silver with the wiring loom done, Immaculate Black Leather interior and Limited Slip Differential, which I am told is quite rare?

I think the fact that I had found a nice colour combo, it started first time and had a nice purrr to the engine I got overly excited, didn't ask the right questions, didn't take her on a proper test drive and paid the man £2800 which in hindsight I think was a bit too much.

I picked up the old girl the other night and drove her back home with what should have been the biggest grin on my face, but the reality was I was sh**ting myself, beads of sweat dripping down and soaking into the Immaculate Black Leather, thinking that I was gonna break down on the motorway, stranded and having to call my wife to pick me up, who by the way didn't know I was going to buy the car (thought asking for forgiveness would be better than asking for permission!)

So the issues I've been experiencing with the car so far are as follows, hoping someone can shed some light on the problem(s) and suggest a fix...

1. Driving on the motorway and getting the girl over 80mph there's a yellow triangle with exclamation mark that comes on. Slow down under 80mph and it goes off, or if I continue driving above 80mph I tap the break slightly and it goes off but flicks back on straight away. I'm pretty sure this is the ESP (Electronic Stability) light as I had it on my W204 C Class, but why would it come on whilst driving straight and over 80mph? Anyone ever experience this?