W124 electrical gremlins 'various'

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

slowcoach1

Car
W124 260E
Hi all, for once a productive session on a quiet bank holiday weekend:rolleyes:

I am an electrical/ electronics tech by trade so confident in following schematics and wielding a multimeter and soldering iron

This is an excellent guide resource for all manner of things re the 124 and I'm sure it has been posted before, item 24 the ETM was the bible for my faults

Mercedes Benz Model 124 - M103 Maintenance Manuals

Mine is the 2.6 six cylinder SOHC engine full of grunt and as smooth as a turbine, you can pick other varients from the front page of the link above if you have a bigger/ smaller petrol/diesel varient

Lovely old weekend chariot that is a rust free import with low miles but was suffering various electrical system faults as follows

bulb fail light illuminated even though all bulbs good
erratic temp control
no air con
erratic rev counter, random on off operation
erratic central locking regardless of which lock was used

1st port of call remove all fuses and clean contact prongs with wire wool until shiny and renew all fuses as some looked a bit tarnished

Hurruah 1st result central locking now playing the game on all locks

2nd pulled both lamp warning relay (long one within fuse box) and AC Klima relay (behind battery) and popped covers off

With aid of magnifying glass dry powdery solder joints observed in both units, so resoldered and any other dodgy looking supects given the same

Second result bulb warning lamp now fuctioning ok and tested by removing bulbs around the car to check it illuminated when a bulb is out