w124 estate e320 1994 knocking from rear/ replacing rear sub frame advise sought

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

robbieesprit

Car
e320 estate
OK, so my trusty old w124 estate (1994 s124), has always had a bit of a whine coming from the rear, some times it would go when i turned left so thought it was a rear bearing. Then one trip I stated to get this knocking, it came and went, but was quite bad, so i limped the car home. I suspect cv on drive shaft...
Car has done 240k miles, I bought it with 185k, and i suspect its original running gear...
I managed to get hold of a second hand rear sub frame, complete with hubs shafts and diff etc, chap said it came from a car with no issues/ no noise , so i thought i would drop the old and replace with this unit. This would give me time to inspect the old units bearings etc..
I have never done this before so this is a shout out for any tips? ill be working on my drive.
id like to keep job as short as possible, my car is not a show car, but much loved family/ work hack, with pretty much everything else working ok (apart from sun roof), so it just needs to work. Im not into up grades as i love the softy wofty ride of the original set up.
should i replace any rubber mounts at the same time, which are the good ones to go for?
Can i keep my shocks in place without depressurising the self levelling system?
I did look in the haynes manual but doesnt really cover this topic.
any advise greatfully received, many thanks Rob.