W124 Idiotic mistake. Missed timing chain cover bolt when lifting head and... 'CRACK'

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RogK

Car
W124 230e cat
Please don't laugh (or cry) too hard - I'm a newbie in distress.

Was lifting the head off my 2.3e in the cold and the dark. Forgot to remove the timing chain cover bolt by the guide rail and only went and broke a chunk off the timing chain cover. Actual head (as in everything but the broken cover) is very good.

So, my thoughts are; the timing chain cover isn't under pressure but is getting sprayed with hot oil. Maybe it can be saved? I've received about 50/50 advice between welding it up (thin cast aluminium - tricky) and bonding the chunk back in place with jb or similar. An MG old-timer who looked at it for me figured it was the first time he'd ever seen a job suitable for metal epoxy!)

My question is am I right in thinking the front cover isn't under huge pressure? Advice & opinions graciously received!

(and yes... I know... I'm an idiot...)

Ouch.

Can you post a photo?

Scene of the crime

Attachments

• 20220109_143103.jpg
    20220109_143103.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 111
  • 20220109_143031.jpg
    20220109_143031.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 109
There are some astonishingly strong bonding agents now available which will not cause the problems of heat and distortion of welding.
They all rely on one fundamental, a forensic cleaning of the parts involved prior to application. That is the route I'd be heading down.

I'd get it welded. At least then you can be pretty much 100% sure that it won't fail. Unlike the epoxy repair.

Thanks all. I hope to get a welder to look at it this week. I'll report back with pics.

Head must have had a gallon of k-seal put through it. Water lines were absolutely clogged with the stuff. Real shame as valves, cam and head were all otherwise perfect. Still, not as bad as me cracking the damn thing I suppose.