W124 speed pulse wire

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by ngenius1, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. ngenius1

    ngenius1 Active Member

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Hi all, recently fitted my alpine navi to the car (1993 320ce), took a picture of the location of the wire for anyone who needs the information.[​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. Diesel Benz

    Diesel Benz MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,088
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Europe
    Car:
    222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
    We cannot access your users directory, can you fix the link or upload the photo properly?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ngenius1

    ngenius1 Active Member

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
  4. SilverSaloon

    SilverSaloon MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    7,759
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Car:
    1994 W124 E300D Estate, 1985 R107 280SL
    good info. i would love to retrofit comand 2.0 to my 124 but dont want to spoil the origionality or damage the dash area. i reckon it could be done though and this is where you'd get the speed pulse :)
     
  5. andy_k

    andy_k MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    5,204
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Location:
    Bexhill, East sussex
    Car:
    Alfa GTV 3.0
    it's not always that colour though :)

    On our last W124 the wire was green and yellow, on another I fitted a sat nav to it was grey.

    I don't think you'll get a Comand to fit to a w124 as they are too wide - you'll need to get hold of a 'taxi console' before you try that mod
     
  6. SilverSaloon

    SilverSaloon MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    7,759
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Car:
    1994 W124 E300D Estate, 1985 R107 280SL
    i'm not going to do it, but i reckon it would fit with little modification to the command surround... get rid of the ashtray
     
  7. bolide

    bolide MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,726
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Brighton
    Car:
    BMW E39 525 Diesel Touring
    There's a 2-pin plug in late W124s with (from memory) thin black wires with a blue trace. I have a sneaking suspicion that is speed pulse as well. I'll have a look & report back

    There's nothing to stop you butchering the console to fit COMAND but a taxi console would make life a lot easier

    Nick Froome
    www.w124.co.uk
     
  8. OP
    OP
    ngenius1

    ngenius1 Active Member

    Messages:
    195
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    The green with white trace is the wire i attached, the factory wire is the one in the black trunking.
    When i was inquiring on locations for the speed pulse Green yellow was mentioned but in the drivers side kick well.
    Also Alpine themselves told me i need a speed pulse generator £180:crazy:
    If your car has cruise or abs you have a speed pulse signal at the clocks.:)


     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.