W124 underbonnet temperature?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BlueQuinn

Car
Mercedes-Benz 300TE-24
Driving from London to Richmond yesterday, about 12 miles, fairly free flowing traffic, when I parked up in Richmond the right hand side of the car seemed very hot, and the wing was very hot as well as the bonnet.

I know that side has the exhaust manifold on but is this normal? There's a lot of space there for air to circulate and cool the exhaust.

My bonnet is missing the big pad on the underside. Would that be the problem?
Water temp was normal on the gauge all the way.

I'm sure it's nothing, but I'm new to all this car driving business so just thought I'd ask the more experienced.

124's do have a right side engine mount cooling duct that should help in summer. Mechanics often just leave them off...

ENGINE COMPARTMENT PANELLING, GASOLINE VEHICLES CHASSIS SHEET METAL íà Mercedes 300 E-24, AMG 300 E 3.4 (124.031) | Êàòàëîã çàï÷àñòåé Mercedes, ïîäáîð àâòîçàï÷àñòåé äëÿ ëåãêîâûõ àâòîìîáèëåé Ìåðñåäåñ (ðåãèîí Åâðîïà) ïî àâòîêàòàëîãó.

and

ENGINE MOUNT COOLING CHASSIS SHEET METAL íà Mercedes 300 E-24, AMG 300 E 3.4 (124.031) | Êàòàëîã çàï÷àñòåé Mercedes, ïîäáîð àâòîçàï÷àñòåé äëÿ ëåãêîâûõ àâòîìîáèëåé Ìåðñåäåñ (ðåãèîí Åâðîïà) ïî àâòîêàòàëîãó.

Without the plastic underbody panel more air is liable to "bleed out " of the engine compartment rather than be forced back through it. [ Its a worthwhile replacement as it will help the aerodynamics and give you a few more mpg at high speeds]

edit:- think I misunderstood do you mean the large sound deadening lining under the bonnet-- that would certainly insulate the bonnet itself from engine heat transfer but not the wing.

I would also suggest checking the main engine cooling fan and viscous coupling is kicking in at the appropriate temperature and if the car has air -con that the 1or2 auxiliary electric fans in front of the radiator are working properly.

Last edited:
That's the one grober!