W164 Comand does not recognise DVD map when cold

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

janafunk

Hi guys

Im a newbie here.....bought an 06 ML420 CDI a month ago....enjoying the torque!!! :)

Any way.....ive had an issue with the Comand DVD map not being recognised three times now.

It seems that on cold days when I start the car and have the comand in map display…there is no map display…and a message ‘Please insert DVD map’ is displayed . Once the car warms up….about 5 mins the map is displayed correctly.

At first I thought it was the DVD….so I took it out and checked to see if its dirty and gave it a good clean anyway….but that did not work.

I have now also tried another DVD map…..V9.0 and the same thing happens…..so it cant be the DVD maps….any one seen this on comand units???

Thanks in advance!

Hi guys

Im a newbie here.....bought an 06 ML420 CDI a month ago....enjoying the torque!!! :)

Any way.....ive had an issue with the Comand DVD map not being recognised three times now.

It seems that on cold days when I start the car and have the comand in map display…there is no map display…and a message ‘Please insert DVD map’ is displayed . Once the car warms up….about 5 mins the map is displayed correctly.

At first I thought it was the DVD….so I took it out and checked to see if its dirty and gave it a good clean anyway….but that did not work.

I have now also tried another DVD map…..V9.0 and the same thing happens…..so it cant be the DVD maps….any one seen this on comand units???

Thanks in advance!

The car is under warranty so take it back to the dealer and ask them to fix it! sounds like a heat related fault to me.

I had this on the W210 E55. Dealer said it was an intermittent fault with the laser reader of the disc. I was out of warranty.

Not sure it help you, sorry

Regards

Richard