W203 c220 cdi - P0299 error code

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

markswlondon

Car
W203 C220 CDi
Morning guys, I’m new to this; just purchased a 2004 plate C220 CDi last week.

Been driving it very gently for the whole time I’ve owned it. Put my foot down yesterday, got to about 40mph and the car felt sluggish, clearly no turbocharger, I then get an engine management warning light.

Stuck the OBD2 code reader in last night and get a p0299 error code - which was turbo charger under boost. I will be calling the dealer this morning when he gets in to see what he says. I can see them weaselling out of this. I only went for the statutory 3 months warranty and upon closer inspection of the documentation, turbo is not ticked as one of the loadings / options.

I wander if the dealer will refuse to investigate as he may say turbo is not covered; surely he has a statutory obligation to investigate in the first instance?

Before I take it back, is there anything obvious I should check? I get the feeling that this fault was on the car already and the dealer turned off the error code but there is no way of telling.

I have a feeling that this is going to burn my pockets. !! I have fallen in love with the car so i hope this incident doesn't sour things!

thanks in advance for any comments / suggestions!

Low boost pressure is usually caused by a boost leak via a split hose

The underside of the hose entering the intake is the obvious point to look

That fault code doesnt come up o my star machine as its a generic code

It could be a number of things but could well be a split turbo pipe which is quite common on these engines.

The hose i would look at is the top right and hose that goes into the intake.

How did you get on with the dealer today

That fault code doesnt come up o my star machine as its a generic code

It could be a number of things but could well be a split turbo pipe which is quite common on these engines.