W203 Gear knob / lever / gaitor

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

abz2002

Hello all

Newbie here, pleased to have found this place and look forward to posts a many!

Following a nightmare experience with a BMW 320d bought from a one man band dealer, just bought my first C180 auto with sports pack from Car Giant, well chuffed, crap economy but beautiful drive makes up for that!

Need to sort a couple of things out to make it perfect.

Firstly, the gear knob has some flaking on the top bit which is unusual.

Had a quote from MB £220 all in. Not end of the world but looking at cheaper options first.

Apparently you have to replace the whole lot i.e. knob, gaitor and base which bolts to actual gearbox?! Seems extreme for a bit of flaking paint!!!

Can anyone confirm/deny this?

My lever (ooh madam!) looks this this:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290376290609&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IThttp://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?VISuperSize&item=290376290609

Second, have a small tear on black leather passenger seat. Looked at Surrey Trimmings who can replace whole piece for £160+VAT. COsmetic option from others is around £60+VAT. Anyone have any experience of cosmetic repairs to leather? I'm a bit sceptical of this?!

Lastly, minor indentation in rear bumper, hairdryer out? or get dent busters in?

There are aftermarket kits that replace just the knob leaving the gaitor, however if you want to keep it OEM then you do indeed replaced the gaitor and knob as a single unit.

Keep an eye on ebay for a good condition unit from another car. They do come up from time to time, and will save you a chunk on a new one.

One final thought, phone around a few dealers - ideally from different dealer groups - far and wide and ask if they have a W203 shift on the shelf. It's the sort of part that is ordered by mistake and the parts department are then stuck with.