W204 DPF Warning Light???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

solphorinc

Car
C200 CDI
Hi Everyone,

Newbie here on the forums. I have searched long and hard over the internet to find the information i require but yet to no avail. I have a Mercedes 2012(62 plate) W204 C200 CDI and wanted to know what warning lights show up to inform me that the DPF maybe clogged up or require regeneration and how do i know if regeneration takes place.

i am extremely confused with lots of contradicting messages and information on the general web. I require something more specific.

If anyone can at all shed some light i would be most appreciative.

Thank you in advance, i look forward to your replies.

Harry

Mine is nearly 4 years old and at 46000 miles and I presume the filter gets cleared automatically. I have never noticed a regeneration.
I do 60% motorway which helps I believe.

I imagine the engine warning light will come on if something is wrong.

You may be worrying about nothing.

1st of all no lights show to inform you of regeneration until it is clogged you will then get an engine management light and possibly limp mode.

The only tell tail signs of regeneration is a hot smell and the ticking noise of the exhaust cooling down from its + 500 degree regen. most Mercedes regenerate approx. every 1000mls but this depends on your driving style. a regeneration takes around 20mls from start to completion, for regeneration to start the engine needs to be up to normal temperature and to be on a constant run.

My car regenerates every 1000mls on my way to work I don't have to hold a constant speed but my average speed is around 50mph to 60mph and I travel 23mls on back roads. I was informed by our local indy that if you put your foot down the ecu will abort the regeneration until the next time these parameters are met.
Hope this helps.

Alfie