W208 clk 230k comand upgrade???

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by LocheeLad, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. LocheeLad

    LocheeLad Active Member

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    Dundee, Scotland
    Car:
    CLK 230 Kompressor Coupe
    Hi folks,

    I currently have the Audio 10 unit in my CLK 230K ( W208, an '02 plate, I believe it's the facelift version as it has indicators in the wing mirrors :dk:) and would like to know if it is possible to upgrade this unit to a COMAND unit or other better unit than the Audio 10.

    Hopefully someone will be able to help with this and offer some good advice. I've had a look on fleabay but it appears that there are lots of different units and I'm not sure what would work...:dk:

    I'd really like to be able to use my phone, hopefully using the buttons on the wheel, and the sat nav would also save my trailing my tomtom around with me.

    Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  2. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,809
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey/Cotswolds
    Car:
    W169 A, W205 C, W451 smart
    I did exactly this upgrade myself. Have a look here;

    Installing COMAND into a W208 facelifted CLK - MB GURU Q&A Board
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. s14jme

    s14jme New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Car:
    A class 210 and Clk 430
    What's the point in going to all that fuss and money.
    I fitted a double din sat nav unit at a fraction of the price.
    And it's got 2011 maps.
    The command looks so dated.
    Unless u had standard I would not bother.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    LocheeLad

    LocheeLad Active Member

    Messages:
    125
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Location:
    Dundee, Scotland
    Car:
    CLK 230 Kompressor Coupe
    It would be helpful if you could tell me what "double din sat nav units" you were able to source, how much they cost and from where???

    Could you upload a couple of photographs showing your completed installation? It would be really helpful so I could see the differences with the more dated MB Comand unit.
     
  5. Howard

    Howard MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    18,624
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Location:
    Toad Hall
    Car:
    CLS 500 / A 150
    Remember that the double din unit won't display in the cluster , although the steering wheel controls probably will work ...

    Alfie put my comand in for me.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.