W208 Convertible - Subwoofer connections

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by tpwuk, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. tpwuk

    tpwuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,979
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Fylde Coast
    Car:
    CLK 430 Convertible (For Sale)
    Guys,

    The previous owner of my CLK fitted an Alpine system, which sounds fab! However, I'm pretty sure that they have not hooked up the subwoofer. The Apline has dedicated RCA output for connection to a sub. What's the best way of connecting this to the Mercedes sub? Any ideas?

    Cheers,
    Glenn
     
  2. npuk

    npuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
    I assume you mean the Subwoofer RCA output from the headunit. If so it is not for connecting direct to a subwoofer.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    tpwuk

    tpwuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,979
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Fylde Coast
    Car:
    CLK 430 Convertible (For Sale)
    Sure I know what you mean. What drives the Sub in the CLK? Does it have an amp somewhere?
     
  4. npuk

    npuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
    Sounds like you had BOSE but an aftermarket audio system has been fitted? If that is the case the BOSE is probably disconnected.

    Best list exactly what audio system you have and what the Alpine system consists off.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    tpwuk

    tpwuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,979
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Fylde Coast
    Car:
    CLK 430 Convertible (For Sale)
    The Apline is a CDE-103BT. I wasn't aware my CLK had the Bose system due to the lack of Bose badges on the speakers and sub. Don't "none-Bose" CLK's have a subwoofer?

    I still have the original Mercedes headunit (Audio 30) and CD changer in my garage.
     
  6. chris846

    chris846 Active Member

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Baaarnsley
    Car:
    2000 CLK320TR (tinny rustbucket)
    Yes - the 'standard' CLKs have sub-woofers also. I imagine that it would run from your head unit RCA output (It is self-powered), but it's a rubbish unit. If you decide to replace it, use a 'standard' 8" sub-woofer and a decent small amp. No need to go to all the trouble of chopping and adapting to fit a bigger unit in (as I did); I found out it was too powerful and leads to all sorts of pain trying to damp out resonance all over the place!
     
  7. OP
    OP
    tpwuk

    tpwuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,979
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Fylde Coast
    Car:
    CLK 430 Convertible (For Sale)
    The bass response in the car is pretty good as it is, so maybe I won't be adding much by continuing down this road.....especially if the standard sub is pants anyway??

    But if I were to pursue it, does the standard sub have RCA inputs and were would I access them?
     
  8. chris846

    chris846 Active Member

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Baaarnsley
    Car:
    2000 CLK320TR (tinny rustbucket)
    The standard sub doesn't have RCA connectors. It just has a mulitpin connector into the car loom. I'd guess you could trace 2 of the wires through to the original head unit connector somewhere in the dashboard. There's a chance that it might need a speaker level input though (even though it has its own mini amp - or is it a crossover?) so you'd have to check the output on the OE head unit just to be sure.
    I can't see you adding to your current sound quality though - whoever put your Alpine in must have thought they could live without the OE sub (not a hard decision!).
    Are your door speakers original? I replaced the fronts on mine and disused the second pair in the rear of the doors - I thought they just muddied up the sound & I wouldn't need them with a decent sub. Turns out I might have been better keeping them and not bothering with a sub - the rear bulkhead that it sits in really limits how much you can actually do with a sub.
    I can get reasonable sound (I spent eight hundred quid on an amp and speakers!) but I seem to have to juggle the bass/treble/fade settings for each different track. And, I'm limited by all manner of different bits of trim etc. starting to resonate if I crank the sub up beyond 'noticeable'.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
    1 person likes this.
  9. Alps

    Alps MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    7,175
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Location:
    London\Essex
    Car:
    E55 2004 Silver, E63 Weistec AMG(SOLD), E55 2004 Silver(SOLD), C36 AMG 1997 (SOLD)
    The mercedes sub is not very good, dont waste your time, as you already have the RCA`s on the Alpine head unit just hook up another amp and sub, job done.
     
  10. npuk

    npuk MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,239
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    A180 CDI Avantgarde SE (2008)
    Or an active sub then no amp needed.
     
  11. unit504

    unit504 Active Member

    Messages:
    877
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Car:
    A **** heap
    my w208 had a bose audio installed with the sub, yes it did have an amp which was located behind the metal plate in the boot where the roof motor is also.
    I had mine stripped out and a complete alpine set up install as the standard bose set up wasn't that good at all :( - but now the alpine really does the trick!
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.