[SOLVED] W210 diag port not working

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by bob6600, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    Finally took my car to get the limp mode diagnosed and vehicle will not talk to STAR.

    Tried 2x 38pin cables, checked fuses, tried another generic code reader.

    Managed to confirm the port has power but just will not talk to the STAR software.

    Before I rip it to bits, anything obvious it could be?

    Btw it was a genuine STAR at Mercland so no problems there and machine was tested on another vehicle and it fine.

    Any help appreciated
     
  2. BlackC55

    BlackC55 Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    18,755
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Horndean, Portsmouth, Hampshire, Southsea
    Car:
    C43 AMG with a 55 engine and supercharger, E55 AMG, S500, etc
    You need to check the wiring to the diag connector on the car.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    Small update

    Wiring behind port seems ok

    Plugged in my ELM27 with 38pin to 16pin OBDII adaptor and it can read the live data (revs, temp, accelerator) but says there are no faults in ECU (although has always said that)
     
  4. lars-mad

    lars-mad Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    368
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    nearby Oslo in Norway
    Car:
    1996 c180 2.0 1995 C180 AMG 1988 190e 2.3 1989 230CE with facelift
    i have the same problem on my c200 let me know if you find out anything
    i have checked fuses wiring etc but cant seem to find the problem
     
  5. OP
    OP
    bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    UPDATE: Problem solved

    Thanks to Alex Crow, the problem was traced to a fuse that sits under the bulkhead where the ECU's live. On my car, there is a 7.5A fuse that had blown, which also stopped the swirl flap motor from working

    4th fuse fromt he left, 7.5A

    [​IMG]
     
  6. lars-mad

    lars-mad Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    368
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Location:
    nearby Oslo in Norway
    Car:
    1996 c180 2.0 1995 C180 AMG 1988 190e 2.3 1989 230CE with facelift
    it does not look the same on my car
     
  7. OP
    OP
    bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,522
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    It won't, as they are 2 different models. However, check EVERY fuse. My car has them in 4 seperate locations.

    Are there any fuses near the ECU on yours?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.