W210 Digital Speedo

Discussion in 'Interior' started by DanMorgan, Mar 28, 2017.

  1. DanMorgan

    DanMorgan Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Car:
    R129 300SL 24V, W124 300CE, W210 E55 AMG, W140 S280
    Hi All,

    I was watching a random YouTube video about a W210 and noticed they had a digital speedo read out like you do on most of the new Mercedes.

    I did a bit of research and apparently its setting in the trip computer but for the life of me I cannot find it.

    Does anyone know where I can find it? I also have a star machine if its a setting on there?

    Cheers,
    Dan
     
  2. KillerHERTZ

    KillerHERTZ Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,827
    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Car:
    CLS63 AMG
    You sure it's not a retrofitted facelift W208 Speedo with the half LCD? Got a link ttontur video?
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2017
  3. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,576
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    It's on the facelift with the larger LCD. I use mine all the time - when starting the car it will show the mileage and trip computer (providing no malfunctions). Press the top left button on the steering once and it will display the MPH.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    DanMorgan

    DanMorgan Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Car:
    R129 300SL 24V, W124 300CE, W210 E55 AMG, W140 S280
    @KillerHERTZ 100% on all facelifts but I don't know how to activate my one!

    Will give that ago Bob, however when I tried clicking all the buttons on the malfunctions bit, it wouldn't shift from that display
     
  5. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,576
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    Steering wheel buttons not working?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    DanMorgan

    DanMorgan Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Car:
    R129 300SL 24V, W124 300CE, W210 E55 AMG, W140 S280
    All working fine, I flick through them all time.

    I tried again this morning. Navigated to the malfunctions section and clicked the top left (and all other) and there were no additional displays.

    I have a feeling it needs to be enabled somehow but theres not much documentation of it online!
     
  7. markmifsud

    markmifsud Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,254
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    North Weald, Essex and Bromley, London
    Car:
    CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
    It could be that you will need a STAR session to delete UK mode. That enables a few features in the cluster.
     
  8. renault12ts

    renault12ts MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    15,913
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Car:
    2005 W215 CL500.
    It should just work...no enabling required.
     
    2 people like this.
  9. markmifsud

    markmifsud Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,254
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    North Weald, Essex and Bromley, London
    Car:
    CLK320 CAB (A208) 02
    It works on mine but I have UK Mode deleted so unsure if it worked prior.
     
  10. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,576
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    No need to navigate. Once car is started, the mileage shows. Press the top left button on the wheel and it should show 0 MPH

    I'll see if I can film it later
     
  11. OP
    OP
    DanMorgan

    DanMorgan Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Car:
    R129 300SL 24V, W124 300CE, W210 E55 AMG, W140 S280
    Cheers - I will also film to show my dilemma!
     
  12. OP
    OP
    DanMorgan

    DanMorgan Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Car:
    R129 300SL 24V, W124 300CE, W210 E55 AMG, W140 S280
    Video
     
  13. markjay

    markjay MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    23,845
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    London
    Car:
    W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
    As above - the most likely explanation is that the reason that your speedo has different functionality to those you see on YouTube is that UK cars come with 'UK Mode' enabled from the factory; this means that the speed in Kmh is displayed at all times and thus other features are not available. On some models the 'UK Mode' can be deleted using STAR, returning the speedo to its original form and function.
     
  14. bob6600

    bob6600 MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    5,576
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Car:
    AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
    Cannot view it :dk:
     
  15. renault12ts

    renault12ts MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    15,913
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Car:
    2005 W215 CL500.
    The W210 has a dual scale speedo so KMH does not have to be displayed digitally.
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. OP
    OP
    DanMorgan

    DanMorgan Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    666
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Car:
    R129 300SL 24V, W124 300CE, W210 E55 AMG, W140 S280
    I will give it a good look on Star on the weekend
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.