W210 Digital Speedo

DanMorgan

Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
670
Location
Cardiff
Car
R129 500SL, W124 300CE Mosselman Twin Turbo, W210 E55 AMG, W210 E320 CDI
Hi All,

I was watching a random YouTube video about a W210 and noticed they had a digital speedo read out like you do on most of the new Mercedes.

I did a bit of research and apparently its setting in the trip computer but for the life of me I cannot find it.

Does anyone know where I can find it? I also have a star machine if its a setting on there?

Cheers,
Dan
 

KillerHERTZ

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
17,487
Location
Cambs
Car
CLS63 AMG
You sure it's not a retrofitted facelift W208 Speedo with the half LCD? Got a link ttontur video?
 
Last edited:

bob6600

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
6,549
Car
AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
It's on the facelift with the larger LCD. I use mine all the time - when starting the car it will show the mileage and trip computer (providing no malfunctions). Press the top left button on the steering once and it will display the MPH.
 
OP
OP
D

DanMorgan

Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
670
Location
Cardiff
Car
R129 500SL, W124 300CE Mosselman Twin Turbo, W210 E55 AMG, W210 E320 CDI
@KillerHERTZ 100% on all facelifts but I don't know how to activate my one!

Will give that ago Bob, however when I tried clicking all the buttons on the malfunctions bit, it wouldn't shift from that display
 

bob6600

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
6,549
Car
AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
Steering wheel buttons not working?
 
OP
OP
D

DanMorgan

Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
670
Location
Cardiff
Car
R129 500SL, W124 300CE Mosselman Twin Turbo, W210 E55 AMG, W210 E320 CDI
All working fine, I flick through them all time.

I tried again this morning. Navigated to the malfunctions section and clicked the top left (and all other) and there were no additional displays.

I have a feeling it needs to be enabled somehow but theres not much documentation of it online!
 

bob6600

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
6,549
Car
AUDI S8 V10, S210 E320 CDI (R.I.P.)
All working fine, I flick through them all time.

I tried again this morning. Navigated to the malfunctions section and clicked the top left (and all other) and there were no additional displays.

I have a feeling it needs to be enabled somehow but theres not much documentation of it online!

No need to navigate. Once car is started, the mileage shows. Press the top left button on the wheel and it should show 0 MPH

I'll see if I can film it later
 
OP
OP
D

DanMorgan

Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
670
Location
Cardiff
Car
R129 500SL, W124 300CE Mosselman Twin Turbo, W210 E55 AMG, W210 E320 CDI
No need to navigate. Once car is started, the mileage shows. Press the top left button on the wheel and it should show 0 MPH

I'll see if I can film it later

Cheers - I will also film to show my dilemma!
 

markjay

MB Master
SUPPORTER
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
30,706
Location
London
Car
W204 C180 Executive SE 2013 Automatic / COMAND NTG4.7 and Morel speakers fitted by www.comand.co.uk
It could be that you will need a STAR session to delete UK mode. That enables a few features in the cluster.

As above - the most likely explanation is that the reason that your speedo has different functionality to those you see on YouTube is that UK cars come with 'UK Mode' enabled from the factory; this means that the speed in Kmh is displayed at all times and thus other features are not available. On some models the 'UK Mode' can be deleted using STAR, returning the speedo to its original form and function.
 

renault12ts

MB Club Veteran
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
16,346
Car
2005 W215 CL500.
As above - the most likely explanation is that the reason that your speedo has different functionality to those you see on YouTube is that UK cars come with 'UK Mode' enabled from the factory; this means that the speed in Kmh is displayed at all times and thus other features are not available. On some models the 'UK Mode' can be deleted using STAR, returning the speedo to its original form and function.

The W210 has a dual scale speedo so KMH does not have to be displayed digitally.
 
OP
OP
D

DanMorgan

Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2012
Messages
670
Location
Cardiff
Car
R129 500SL, W124 300CE Mosselman Twin Turbo, W210 E55 AMG, W210 E320 CDI
I will give it a good look on Star on the weekend
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom