W210 E200

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mark9208

Hi,

I am new to this thread and live in Malaysia. I plan to purchase a UK reconditioned yr 2000 E200 W210. Before I buy, are there any issues that I should be aware of about this car? I tried entering the VIN in the Russian site but somehow it cannot decode the VIN, Is there another way that I can decode the VIN. Also the VIN is only available on the door sill and not in the engine bay near the radiator like my W124 (which also a UK recond from the Derwent dealer)

I really appreciate any assistance. Thanks

Mark

Are you entering all 17 digits from the VIN, which should be visible through the windscreen looking onto the dashboard on the passenger side.

Not sure what you mean by reconed car, dealers don't do that, but I suspect it's been resprayed and prepped for sale.

The single biggest thing to look for is rust.
Door tops, boot round the lock button, front spring perches, wheelarches, bonnet skin to frame joints, battery tray, radiator support panel, inside the spare wheel well and underneath especially the subframes.

Stick the VIN up here for a minute and I'll get you the datacard. You can then remove the number if you want.

Last edited:
Hi Dieselman,

You are right, the car is prepped up for resale. The Vin is WDBXXXXXXXAXXXXXX. Also there is a rust spot in the engine bay area in one of the sub frames. Are these cars reliable? Is the 2000 the last W210?

Thanks

Last edited:
They are reliable, Mark. I had mine from 30 something thousand miles to 154,000 miles, and the only non-service item that needed replacement was a cat (pattern part fitted for under £300)
As DM says - rust is the only real problem.

Here

Last edited:
Wow thanks, now all I have to do is check that the engine and tranny number matches. The car is clocked at 19k, is there a way that I can check its history when it was in the UK? Do you think that MERC in UK will help if I give the VIN? Thanks