W210 E55 oscillation/Vibration Issues

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

janjuhab

Car
W210 E320 CDI and E55
Hi All,

I am a newbie to the forum, so apologies if I have posted this in the wrong section.

I have just bought an W210 E55 '99 and have recently started to notice a vibration issue.
When travelling at 45-60 mph, I notice a vibration that is coming up through the centre console and continues through the tunnel. No steering wheel shake, however, once the car is fully warmed up, the vibration/oscillation goes away.

I have done the following work to try to cure the issue:
1) Front tyres re-balanced
2) Rear tyres were cheap and nasty, so a fresh set of pirelli p zero's and balanced
3) Transmission mount collapsed - replaced
4) O/S Engine mount worn badly - having that replaced today
5) Front bearings where repacked and adjusted in 2011

I am not lost and hoping that the engine mount replacement today will cure the issue. Lastly I do have the flex disc's in reserve but as these are expensive I want to rule out all the other rubber mounts.

Has anyone experienced this? if so what did you do to cure this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Thanks for the response. Is this something you have experienced? would the noise go away once warmed up? Thanks in advance

I had prop shaft vibration on a 210, albeit a 320cdi.
It didn't disappear when warm but it did quieten down.
I fitted a complete second hand prop with new rubber doughnuts on each end and it was silent as could be.

Thanks for the response. That was my last course of action, that is the doughnuts each end.
The car is in having the engine mount done, as this will throw out the alignment of the prop I believe, if that does not cure it then, its the flex disc's next.

Mount has been changed - an improvement but not completely. Flex disc's are now being changed.