W211 Tips On Buying An E270 or E320 cdi

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mystic.bertie

Car
E280 CDI SPORT 2007 Saloon
Hi Guys

I have never got round to buying a Merc and so i think the time has come. Im trying to not go far over £2500 so its looking like a 2003 or 2004 e270 cdi or e320 cdi saloon for my budget.

Is the valeo radiator still a concern on these cars and best avoided? If so how can i guarantee its not a valeo as i think a 2004 car could still have the valeo.

Is the braking system still a concern or is it just a case of hoping nothing goes wrong with it as all models at this age have it.

What else should i concentrate on, im experienced enough at looking over cars i just want to make sure i have some knowledge about the cars common problems.

Am i right in thinking the 04 cars are better with mesh grill on the dash?

Robert

The Valeo problem should mostly have been replaced by now but it's worth checking.

The SBC is a bit more of a lottery but the job can be done for £500 now as opposed to the £1000 it cost not too long back.

The mesh grill is mostly very late 2004, I don't recall ever seeing an '04 plate with it.

Other than that, they are great cars (I've owned eight 211's!) and all of mine were fantastic. My favourite CDI is the IL5 270 CDI; 50mpg with plenty of grunt. The last 270 I had was sold with 277k miles on and to look at it and drive you wouldn't know.

The Valeo problem should mostly have been replaced by now but it's worth checking.

The SBC is a bit more of a lottery but the job can be done for £500 now as opposed to the £1000 it cost not too long back.

The mesh grill is mostly very late 2004, I don't recall ever seeing an '04 plate with it.

Other than that, they are great cars (I've owned eight 211's!) and all of mine were fantastic. My favourite CDI is the IL5 270 CDI; 50mpg with plenty of grunt. The last 270 I had was sold with 277k miles on and to look at it and drive you wouldn't know.